Skip to main content

ARCHIVED ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION deleted from Federal Government Web Sites: Sources

Sources

This Guide is intended to suggest sources useful in locating environmental information that had previously been posted on federal government websites, but which has been deleted.

If not successful in locating what you are looking for using one of these sources, try the others. 

If you can suggest any sources that fall within the scope of this Guide, please email me: cryan@vermontlaw.edu.

The Wayback Macnine a.k.a. The Internet Archive

The Wayback Machine a.k.a. The Internet Archive  has been archiving the web for 20 years, and has preserved webpages from millions of websites. 

The Wayback Machine is most effective if you have a url, for example: http://www.epa.gov or  http://epa.gov/climatechange/index.html or https://www.whitehouse.gov/energy/climate-change‚Äč.

Enter the url and choose the date you need. 

Another option is to try the Search Box on the right side of the main page. Once you do a search, you'll be given Advanced Search options to help you focus your search. 

This blog posting describes their recent efforts to preserve federal government websites and data through their End of Term Archive Project.

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Web Archive

FDLP Web Archive is comprised of selected, but not all, U.S. Government Web sites,  archived to create working "snapshots" of the Web sites,  at various points in time. 

Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)

At this point, I recommend using the Internet Archive or perhaps DataRefuge for searching information archived on EDGI, a network of academics and non-profit organizations which is building online tools and research networks to proactively archive public environmental data and ensure its continued public availability.

Former EPA Climate Change Infomation - on the City of Chicago Web Site

The City of Chicago has taken  the data from the archived EPA Climate Change page, and presents it  on this web page.

Former EPA Climate Change Information on the Burlington, Vermont Web Site

The City of Burlington, VT, as well as a number of other cities, have followed the lead of the City of Chicago  which has archived the data from the archived EPA Climate Change page. The CIty of Burlington  presents it  on this web page.

January 19, 2017 Snapshot of the EPA Web Site

The current EPA web site links to the EPA web site as of January 19, 2017:

1/19/17 Snapshot of EPA Web site

According to the Environmental Data & Governance Initiative, this snapshot is not comprehensive and contains errors. 

Climate Regulation Database

Hosted by Columbia Law School's Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, the Climate Regulation Database  contains archived copies of Obama-era climate change regulations, policy documents, guidance documents, and supporting materials such as regulatory impact statements, environmental impact statements, and other supplemental studies. It  organizes all of these materials by agency and topic.

Adaptation Clearinghouse: Federal Adaptation Resources

The Georgetown Climate Center is collecting and archiving federal climate resources in the Clearinghouse.   Resources direct users to archived links or provide access to an archived link at the bottom of the resource summary. You can search by keyword or by agency. 

Memory Hole 2

Memory Hole 2 has as it's goal  "to save important documents from oblivion."

Scroll down to the bottom of the main page for a search box. 

Click on Resources for additional Archives.

Environmental Law Librarian / Assistant Professor of Law

DataRefuge

DataRefuge is a site for federal climate and environmental data. There is a search box available. The site also advises that the majority of government information gathered through the project is available through the Internet Archive