Skip to main content

Subscription Databases: Off campus access

This Guide gives you the access point to VLS subscribed databases, tips for off campus access, and databases tutorials.

Troubleshooting Tips

Most library e-journals & databases are restricted to use on campus, or use off-campus only by current VLS faculty, staff, and students. To access databases off campus, go the the list of library dabatases, then enter your VLS username and password. 

If you experience any problems accessing databases off campus, try below troubleshooting tips:

  • Try use a different browser. (Chrome usually works better!)
  • Enable cookies and JavaScript in your browser.
  • If you are using computers from your internship or workplace -- Corporate firewalls could possibly block users from accessing electronic resources. Suggest to your IT/ network administrator create an exception for https://stevens.vermontlaw.edu
  • If the above solution does not work, try adding the full URL to the firewall exception. (Right click on the database name on library database page to copy the URL).
  • Getting an EZProxy Hostname error? This could indicate a source needs to be added to the VLS Library's database configuration file. Please alert library staff.
  • Still having trouble? Email us. (A screenshot of the error page will be very helpful!)

Get Help

Contact the VLS Help Desk with questions about:

  • Your VLS email and password.
  • CampusWeb login.
  • Printers at VLS.
  • Compatibility with your particular hardware/operating system/firewall setup.
  • Other technical questions relating to these configurations.

Call (802) 831-1441 with problems with a particular database, e-journal, or other library resources.

Subject Guide

Chenfang Yang's picture
Chenfang Yang
Contact:
68 N. Windsor Street, South Royalton, VT 05068
8028311445
Website / Blog Page