Skip to main content

Environmental Law Research Guide: International Environmental Law Resources

Use this guide to access the best resources available for environmental law research.

Getting Started with International Environmental Research

The following three Guides to the basics of International Environmental Law research are recommended as starting points:

American Society of International Law  Research Guide to International Environmental Law, although not updated since April, 2015,  uses a well-organized narrative format and includes an introduction/overview of international environmental law research, search strategies, and long, descriptive lists of primary and secondary sources. 

The GlobaLex Basic Guide to International Environmental Legal Research  also uses a clear, well-organized narrative format and includes an introduction, starting points, and key abbreviations. Treaties are  organized  by topic, with links to the web site for each treaty. It includes links and descriptions of  indexes and finding aids for treaty research as well as to the resources for national laws relating to environmental law, suggestions for searching library catalogs, and a great deal more. 

International Environmental Law Research Guide by UC Hastings Law Library, also well organized and straight-forward, provides a brief introduction; current awareness resources; a list of relevant subject headings; online databases, many of which are available here at VLS;  search tips specific to international environmental law research on Westlaw, Lexis Advance and Bloomberg;  free internet resources, many of which are listed and described in ELRS; and a section on treaties. 

 

Other sections of this Environmental Law LibGuide will also be helpful when searching for international environmental law resources since  resources with an international environmental focus will, of course, be found in general environmental law sources.  The resources listed below will  be especially helpful. 

WebSites/ELRS for International Environmental Research

VLS's Environmental Law Research Sources (ELRS), a collection of free environmental legal research resources, links to selected web sites for use in  environmental law research. One category, in particular,  is of interest: International Environmental Law, which is divided into the following categories:

1) International Environmental Law Organizations 

        a)  Intergovernmental Bodies

        b) Non-governmental  Organizations

2) Primary International Environmental Sources

3) Environmental Treaties

       a) Individual Treaties 

       b) Treaty Resources

Databases for International Environmental Research

In addition to the databases listed below, always consult Environmental Databases.