Skip to main content

Comparative and International Environmental Law Research: Books

A comprehensive collection of research resources on foreign, comparative, and international environmental law

JULIEN quick search

Quick Search:

Search JULIEN, the Library Catalog:


Advanced Keyword Search | My Library Account | Mobile Julien

Useful Tools

Abbreviations and Acrynoms--

If you have a citation but do not know to what it is citing to, use a source like Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations or Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations (both available in the Reference collection)

Browse for Books

In the Environmental Collection on the top floor of the library, you may also browse books on Comparative Environmental Law and International Environmental Law starting call number K 3851. 

Tips for Searching JULIEN

When searching in JULIEN, try the following Library of Congress system subject headings (go to Advanced Search):

  • Environmental law -- [geographic area]
  • Environmental mediation            
  • Environmental monitoring -- Law and legislation             
  • Biodiversity conservation -- Law and legislation              
  • Carbon dioxide mitigation -- Law and legislation             
  • Coastal zone management -- Law and legislation
  • Emissions trading -- Law and legislation             
  • Environmental impact charges -- Law and legislation       
  • Global warming -- Law and legislation

Book Highlights

Research Handbook on Chinese Environmental Law  (ebook)

The newly amended Environmental Protection Law of PRC (2014) indicates the prominence of law and its key role in the development of environmental management and protection in China. At the same time, interest in Chinese environmental law is growing as China begins to play an increasingly important role in economic and environmental affairs globally. This Handbook provides a comprehensive and precise introduction to the environmental law of China and is an accessible and useful guide. - Wang Xi, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

The future of international environmental law ( K3585 .F88 2010)

This book provides a comparative study of the laws and policies governing environmental degradation, environmental impact assessments, environmental human rights, and the management of water quality, wildlife, and habitat. If focuses on five nations, specifically, the United States, Canada, New Zealand, England, and India. 

Comparative environmental law and regulation ( K3585.4 .C65 2011)

Comes in 3 volumes. An introductory treatise on comparative environmental law, and the environmental law of each nations (found in alphabetical order).

The chapters in this treatise offer initial research frameworks facilitating further investigation of a nation's Environmental Law. Each chapter addresses comparable aspects.