Skip to main content

Energy Law and Policy Research: Articles

Energy Law Review Articles

To locate energy related law review articles  which are scholarly, in-depth, and heavily foot-noted, use Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law,  or HeinOnline. Another possibility is  SSRN (the Social Science Research Network) which contains a great many open-access law review articles.

Practice Oriented Energy Law Articles

To locate energy law journal articles, which differ from law review articles in that they are generally practical and practice-oriented, and often published by bar associations, use Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law, or the HeinOnline database

Energy News Articles

To locate energy related news articles, consult one of our databases  including EnergyWire,  Environment & Energy DailyClimateWireGreenWire, InsideEPA (which includes Energy as one it it's Topic areas) , or consult the Environmental News section  (which, of course, covers energy issues)  of the VLS Environmental Law Research Sources database.

Non-Law Energy Articles

To locate energy articles that do not specifically deal with the law, VLS subscribes to a number of relevant databases  including  JSTOR, Expanded Academic ASAP, Environment Complete, etc. And for statistical information, often with accompanying articles, use Statista. 

Locating full-text of Articles

If you find a reference to a relevant article, but not the full-text of it, search for the title of the journal in JULIEN   to see if VLS has access to it in print or electronically. 

If the journal is not listed in JULIEN, search  the title of the article using  Google and also Google Scholar.  If still unsuccessful, you can request a copy of the article through VLS's  InterLIbrary Loan.

Additional Advice

You will find references to articles in a variety of sources. The recommendations listed above are excellent suggestions. You may, of course, use other resources and strategies to your advantage.

Environmental Law Librarian & Assistant Professor