Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VLS Subscription Databases
Below is a sampling of databases useful for food and agriculture research available to public patrons, but only In the library!
Access the Full List of VLS Databases available in the library for public patrons.
Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.
Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights This link opens in a new window
With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800s, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of online full-text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. All are listed in JULIEN, but they can be searched full-text through the Ebook Central site.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy includes articles related to environmental concerns with journal coverage and reference content from perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests including Soil, Science and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; etc..
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers coverage of environmental aspects relating to agriculture, sustainable agriculture, water and agriculture, etc, as well as food, food safety, food additives, dietary supplements, etc. and other areas of environmental studies. Contains full text (for most) of the thousands of articles included, and a selection of monographs dating back 100 years.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFIle covers a number of academic disciplines and includes thousands of articles relating food and agriculture from scholarly as well as general interest journals. Contains full text for most of the articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text journals, book chapters, reports, etc., in many subject areas including Agriculture, Food Studies, Horticulture, Botany & Plant Sciences, Environmental Studies, Business, etc.
Proquest Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index users are able to access timely information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, including agriculture, energy, environment, food, natural resources, science/technology, and water. The majority of listings link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
Westlaw and Lexis
For effective food or agriculture law research you can search for sources as you normally would, including using the Advanced Search option.
Westlaw and Lexis are both available for use in the library, by public patrons.
HeinOnline 50 State Surveys