LibGuides: Food and Agriculture Law and Policy Research Guide for the Public: Statutes, Regulations, Gov't Sites, The Farm Bill

Food and / or Agriculture - Compilations of Statutes and Regulations

EPA - Laws and Regulations of Agriculture Sectors
Agriculture sectors are primarily engaged in growing crops, raising animals, and harvesting fish and other animals from a farm, ranch, or their natural habitats. Additional regulatory information may also be available from the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
EPA - Laws and Regulations that Apply to Agricultural Operations by Statute
This is a general description of EPA’s requirements, and should only be used as a guide. Since rules and regulations may change, use this information as a starting place to determine which regulations apply,
FDA - Laws Enforced by FDA
Includes links to the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FD&CAct) as well as Other Laws Affecting FDA, Selected Amendments to the FD&C Act., and Related Resources.
FDA - Regulations and Guidance Documents
This site contains FDA guidance and regulatory information with links to Federal Register documents. You can also access information about food safety programs, manufacturing processes, industry systems, and import/export activities.
FDA - Rules and Regulations
Includes a link to FDA's database of CFR Title 21 (Food and Drugs)which is updated annually as well as to eCFR (recommended) which is updated almost immediately.
Senate Comittee on Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry: Compilation of Laws
The current text of federal agricultural laws including Commodity Laws, Consolidated Laws, Trade Laws, Food & Nutrition Laws, Water Resources, etc.
Survey of Selected State Food Laws on HeinOnline
Includes, by state, brief descriptions and code citations to laws and regulations dealing with the Sale of Raw Milk, of Eggs, of Cottage Foods and of Wild Foraged Mushrooms.
USDA - Statutes and Regulations
Includes Department of Agriculture's Judicial Decisions, food distribution regulations, food safety regs and policies, rural development regulations, etc.

Comprehensive / General Sources of Statutes & Regulations - - Also available on WL & LX , etc.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The CFR is the official codification of the permanent rules first published in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Includes a link to e-CFR, the regularly updated online version of the CFR.
Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for proposed and final rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Regulations.gov
This site includes Proposed and Final Rules, as well as Public Comments and Supporting and Related Materials associated with the regulations. Submit your own Comments!
U.S. Code
The U.S. Code is the official codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
Title 7 - Agriculture Statutes
Title 21 - Food & Drugs Statutes

Agency / Department Websites

The U.S. Department of Agriculture provides leadership in food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management. topics, including biotechnology, energy, the farm bill, forestry, homeland security, and organic agriculture. Resources include bills, guidance documents, regulations, administrative orders, statutes. Explore the many Agencies that make up the USDA such as. the Food & Nutrition Service, (which includes many programs such as :SNAP, Farmers Market Nutrition Program, etc.), Agricultural Marketing Service, Urban Agriculture, Farm Service Agency, the Food Safety & Inspection Service, the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, etc.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Food Section contains Information on Labeling & Nutrition, Compliance & Enforcement, FSMA, Federal / State Food Programs, Guidance for Industry by Topic, etc.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Agriculture provides information supporting EPA's partnership with the agriculture community to assist in fulfilling their mission of protecting human health and the environment . Sources include Regulatory Requirements , A-Z Agriculture Topics, News & Alerts, Related Resources.
Additional Agencies such as NOAA, the CDC, the State Department, and the Department of Homeland Security provide additional safety measures related to food.

Congressional Committees

U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry
The Committee's jurisdiction covers a vast number of subjects related to Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. Includes a compilation of laws, current legislation, hearing transcripts, committee reports, news, etc.
U.S. House Committee on Agriculture
The House Committee on Agriculture has general jurisdiction over federal agriculture policy and oversight of some federal agencies, and it can recommend funding appropriations for various governmental agencies, programs, and activities, as defined by House rules.

The Farm Bill / Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (P.L. 115-334) - Selected Sources

The 2018 Farm Bill: Prior, House and Senate Bill Comparison (Congressional Research Service)
Farm Bill Law Enterprise (Vermont Law and Graduate School & Partners)
The Farm Bill Law Enterprise brings together, for research and analysis, academic and clinical programs with expertise in food, agriculture, nutrition, and the environment. Among its reports: Diversified Agricultural Economies; Food Access, Nutrition, and Public Health; Productivity and Risk Management; and Governance, Transparency, and Accountability.
History of the U.S. Farm Bill
Created by a Law Library of Congress intern, this resource provides a brief introduction and a TimeLine, with links, to U.S. farm bills from1933 to the present.
House Agriculture Committee: Farm Bill
United States Farm Bills (National Agriculture Law Center)
Senate Ag, Nutrition & Forestry Committee: 2018 Farm Bill
USDA: Farm Bill Implementation Progress
Westlaw - Farm Bill + 6 Bill Drafts and168 Legislative History Documents

The Farm Bill - 2023 - Selected Resources

2023 Farm Bill - News from the House Committee on Agriculture
USDA Economic Research Service Research and Analysis Related to the 2023 Farm Bill.
2023 Farm Bill Recommendations
Policy ideas from the Farm Bill Law Enterprise Partnership, of which CAFS at VLGS is a participant.

Many organizations are also analyzing and making recommendations for the 2023 Farm Bill, often specific to their particular interests. Use Web Sites/ELRS in this Guide for lists of Agriculture and Food Law and/or policy web sites

Cornell Library at Vermont Law & Graduate School

Food and Agriculture Law and Policy Research Guide for the Public: Statutes, Regulations, Gov't Sites, The Farm Bill

Laws & Government Resources