Overview
Below are some suggestions selected from the many available sources of news. Many of these sites allow you to sign up for email news options.
Blogs
- The Ag & Food Law Update BlogA blog by the National Agricultural Law Center covering judicial, legislative, and regulatory developments.
- Agricultural Law Weekly Review"The Agricultural Law Weekly Review provides an update of recent agricultural law developments from local, state, national, and international levels." From Penn State Law Center for Agricultural ... Law.
- American Farmland Trust BlogThe American Farmland Trust is a nonprofit conservation organization dedicated to protecting farmland and promoting sound farm policy. Includes sections on agriculture and the environment, growing locally, federal farm policy, and state issues and programs.
- Food PoliticsBy Marion Nestle, Professor in the Department of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health at New York University, who critically reviews and analyzes reports, news, lobbying efforts, etc.
- Institute of Agriculture & Trade Policy BlogIATP is a non-profit organization promoting fair and sustainable food, farm, and trade systems. Issues include agricultural technology, climate change, drought, the farm bill, energy, food justice, rural development, and industrialized meat.
- National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition BlogA blog by the National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (an alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities) that includes new regulations, proposed bills, and other news related to sustainable agriculture issues.
- USDA BlogCategories include Animals, Climate, Equity, Farming, Food & Nutrition, Health, Nutrition Security, Rural, etc. You can also filter to a specific month, back to Jan. 2021.
News Websites
- Food Safety NewsBreaking news on foodborne illness outbreaks, food recalls, food politics, and calendars of events.
- Center for Food Safety Press ReleasesThis site contains information on GE crops, food labeling, food safety, and litigation in those areas.
New York Times
If you've already registered, click here for access.
First time users click here
Create a NYTimes.com account using your VLS email (vermontlaw.edu) address. You have claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. You then have full access to NYTimes.com.
Washington Post
For access: The Washington Post – VLS site.
First-time users: Click the “Sign Up” link at the bottom of the login screen. Use your VLS credentials, then verify your account using the link provided in an email from The Washington Post.
News Articles from ELRS Web Sites
You can locate news stories by consulting the Environmental News section in ELRS (VLGS Environmental Law Research Sources).
Also, many of the web sites included in the Food Law and in the Agriculture Law sections of ELRS contain News.
News Articles from Selected Databases Subscribed to by VLS
- Greenwire This link opens in a new windowDaily coverage of environment and energy issues including those related to food and agriculture. It covers politics, policy, regulations, legislation, and court cases with news stories and special Reports. Retrospective overage goes back to 1996.
- ClimateWire This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, daily coverage of climate policy issues including those related to food and agriculture by Environment & Energy Publishing. Searching includes all E & E Publishing stories back to 1996 where climate change stories were published prior to the 2008 debut of ClimateWire.
- Law360 -- Food & Beverage This link opens in a new window
News and analysis on legal developments. In addition to their Food & Beverage section, click on "all sections" to find Cannabis, Environmental, Energy, Health, etc. Requires Lexis credentials to save articles or set up custom alerts.
