The New York Times
The VLGS library has an academic subscription to The New York Times for all students, faculty, and staff.
To activate a NYTimes.com Pass:
1. Go to the VLGS New York Times registration site.
2. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your VLGS email address.
3. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.
4. Access The New York Times by logging in to your account from a web browser, or download the NYT app from nytimes.com/mobile or by searching the Google or Apple stores.
You may need to renew your account periodically by redoing the activation steps and confirming your association with the VLGS community.
The Washington Post
The VLGS library offers The Washington Post online subscriptions for all students, staff, and faculty.
1. To set up your account, go to the registration page. Create an account using your VLGS email address.
2. You will receive an activation e-mail; follow the steps to activate your subscription and verify your address.
After your account is created, you can access The Washington Post off-campus from the app (available on the Apple and Google stores) or via a web browser and the library subscription link when on-campus.
General News Databases
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
- Law360 This link opens in a new window
Law360 has more than 40 practice area, industry, and state sections that cover litigation, legislation and regulation, corporate deals, major personnel moves, and legal industry news and trends. It includes sections on Energy and Environmental. Requires Lexis credentials to save articles or set up custom alerts.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis provides access to legal publications and many popular current news sources, including newspapers like the Wall Street Journal, trade publications, and international sources. To view a list, go to the Sources tab below the search box and select "view all".
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowNews sources on Westlaw include Reuters, national newspapers such as the Boston Globe and LA Times, state and regional newspapers, and international publishers. Go to the Content Types tab and select News to see them all.
Environmental News Databases
- ClimateWire This link opens in a new windowClimateWire is designed to bring readers unmatched coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment, and society. Includes news articles, opinion pieces, and expert analysis.
- EnergyWire This link opens in a new windowEnergyWire provides readers deep, broad and insightful coverage on the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world.
- Environment & Energy Daily This link opens in a new windowDesigned for policy researchers who need the latest updates from Capitol Hill. From federal agency appropriations to comprehensive energy legislation, E&E Daily tracks environmental and energy issues in Congress. Search across E&E News, ClimateWire, EnergyWire, GreenWire all in one place.
- Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new windowAn essential online research tool edited by attorneys that provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy.
- Greenwire This link opens in a new windowDaily coverage of environment and energy issues including those related to food and agriculture. It covers politics, policy, regulations, legislation, and court cases with news stories and special Reports. Retrospective overage goes back to 1996.
- InsideEPA This link opens in a new windowIncludes daily news, the "Weeks Top Stories", "Hot Documents" and a database of special reports, policy papers, comments, draft and final regulations, court decisions, legislation, and state proceedings in a searchable archive dating back to 1998.
Newspapers & Magazines In Print
Current newspapers and magazines are located in the newspaper reading room on the campus level of the library. Newspapers are retained for 2 weeks; we keep the current and most recent issue for magazines.
National Newspapers
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal
Regional Newspapers
Burlington Free Press
The Herald (Randolph)
Rutland Herald
Times Argus
Valley News
Vermont Standard
Magazines
The Atlantic
Bloomberg Businessweek
The Economist
Fortune
Harper's
The Nation
The National Jurist
National Law Journal
National Review
The New Republic
The New Yorker
The Progressive
Time
Washington Monthly
Electronic Resources & Technology Librarian
