Community Legal Information Center: Self-help Legal Books

The focus of this book is to explain the basic requirements of the federal Administrative Procedures Act (APA) and similar state statutes. It then explains how to make sure that you meet the requirements of the APA as you make your way through the administrative hearing process. It provides insight on how to prepare for the hearing, how to master the hearing process itself, and how to avoid certain traps.

This book provides the reader with options for resolving everyday legal problems both inside and outside the courtroom. This ABA guide considers conflict resolution methods such as negotiation; arbitration; mediation; and explores small claims and civil court procedure if alternative methods fail.

The ABA Legal Guide for Dog Owners aims to help the reader know and understand laws related to dogs and dog ownership while providing insight into how to protect yourself and your dog. But it is also a reference that can be used to advocate for all animals. Topics covered include: laws related to dogs; the basics of dog ownership; what to do when problems arise; animal cruelty; and what to do with your dog when you die.

This book answers the many common questions that arise from dog ownership. Chapters address state and local regulation of dog ownership; buying & selling dogs; landlords & dogs; traveling with dogs: barking dogs; assistance dogs, what happens when a dog is injured or killed; providing for pets; dog bites; dangerous dogs, dogs and divorce; and cruelty to dogs.

This book provides an overview of the law of bankruptcy, and state debtor-creditor law. Chapters cover steps in the bankruptcy process including commencing bankruptcy proceedings; stays of collection; the property of the bankruptcy estate; exemptions; avoidance of pre-bankruptcy transfers; claims against the bankruptcy estate; discharge; Chapters 13 and 11 bankruptcies; and more. It also covers what an individual debtor needs to know about creditors rights laws outside of bankruptcy.

This book explains what Chapter 13 bankruptcy is and how it works. Chapter 13 offers unique debt solutions that are not available in a Chapter 7 bankruptcy proceeding. Chapters provide an overview of Chapter 13 bankruptcy; debts that are discharged in Chapter 13 bankruptcy; bankruptcy and foreclosure; Chapter 13 features--cramdowns, and lien stripping; and who must use Chapter 13.

Chapter 7 bankruptcy wipes out all or some of an individual's debt. This book guides the individual debtor through the Chapter 7 bankruptcy process. Chapters cover whether the debtor should file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy; the role of the automatic stay; the property of the bankruptcy estate; how bankruptcy affects homeownership; what happens to secured debts in bankruptcy; how to complete and file bankruptcy paperwork; and handling a bankruptcy case in court.

This book focuses on the eligibility requirements for both Chapter 7 and Chapter 11 bankruptcies. Chapters explain what bankruptcy is, and which type of bankruptcy is best for the individual debtor; who can file for bankruptcy; how bankruptcy affects the individual's outstanding debts, property, homeownership, and secured loans; and more.

This book focuses on the purchase of small to medium-sized businesses. It directs the potential purchaser to considerations when deciding on whether to buy a business. Chapters cover the basics of buying a business; the legal issues associated with buying a business; determining what the business is worth; how to pay for the purchase; structuring the purchase; the due diligence or investigation stage; drafting a letter of intent; preparing the sales agreement; the terms of the sale; liabilities and representations; preparing the promissory note, the bill of sale, lease assignment, and related documents; noncompete agreements; and preparing for the closing. Sample purchase and sales agreements are included.

This book focuses on the sale of small to medium-sized businesses. Chapters covers whether and when to sell a business; an overview of the process of selling a business; the legal issues involved in selling a business; tax considerations when selling a business; how much is the business worth; preparing the business for sale and finding the right buyer; structuring the sale--assets versus entity sale; preparing the sales agreement; preparing the promissory note and other related sales documents, and preparing for the closing. Sample sales agreements are included.

This book is for those who are considering going into business with one or a few others. Chapters cover whether forming a partnership is the right way to do business; provide an overview of the partnership agreement and its elements including choosing a partnership name, establishing partners' contributions, partners' shares of the profits, and management duties; addresses changes in ownership of the partnership, and partner disputes; discusses drafting your own partnership agreement; and discusses how partnerships are taxed. Sample partnership agreements are included.

This book provides the reader with the information needed to determine whether to form an LLC or to convert an existing business to an LLC. Chapters cover an explanation of what an LLC is; the basic legal requirements for an LLC; the tax aspects of forming an LLC; preparing and filing LLC Articles of Organization; preparing an LLC operating agreement; and issues that arise after forming the LLC. Sample LLC forms are included.

This book helps the reader determine which business structure works best for their business. For those who choose the corporate form of doing business, this book explains to the reader how corporations work; corporate taxes; the seven steps to incorporation; and important post-incorporation tasks. State specific requirements are included, as are sample forms.

This book is the small business legal forms companion. It provides background information on many of the most common business transactions and the documents that are necessary to memorialize them. Chapters cover the documents required to form a business; to run a corporation (corporate actions); to borrow money; to buy a business; to lease space; to purchase real estate; to buy, sell, manufacture, or lease goods; to hire employees or independent contractors; and to extend credit. Samples of all documents are available.

This book focuses on the legal issues of starting and running a small business. First, the book helps the reader determine which form of business structure is best suited to the reader's business operations. Then it discusses the forms and documents that are necessary to getting that business entity up and running whether it be in the form of a partnership, a corporation, or a limited liability company.
Thereafter, it addresses common business transactions and the documents that are necessary to memorialize those transactions such as required licenses and permits; raising money for the business; franchises; insuring the business; negotiating a favorable lease; home-based business concerns; legal requirements for dealing with customers; and extending credit and getting paid.

This book is a guide to using free and low-cost web resources to find local business and market information. It also discusses how to use local sources to obtain more in-depth market information about the people, companies, and national issues that impact certain communities. This book provides the reader with a framework for researching local information, discussing various types of local information that might be useful, and how to find that information. Also covered are more advanced fee-based information sources.

This book is a small-business start-up guide. It explains what needs to be done to plan and legally start a business. Chapters are devoted to choosing the appropriate legal structure for the business; choosing a business name and location; creating an effective business plan; raising financing to start the business; pricing, billing, and bidding on projects; complying with federal, state, and local requirements to start a business; entering into contracts and agreements; and small business marketing.

The cannabis industry encompasses a broad array of business operations, such as recreational and medical marijuana sales, CBD products, hemp products, foods and beverages, core services (growing plants) and ancillary services (marketing and distribution). With the growth in the cannabis industry, this books aims to provide the reader with an overview of the laws, federal and state, that impact cannabis businesses. Chapters cover the tension between federal and state laws; transactional considerations; banking and financing; employment; cannabis and real property; the tax law concerns of cannabis business; marketing; trademarks; patent law and the cannabis industry; trends in cannabis litigation; insurance considerations; the regulation of products that contain cannabis; and the Canadian cannabis industry.

This book provides a guide to fighting your traffic ticket. It explains how to research and understand the motor vehicle laws of your state, and how to challenge a ticket and prepare for court. Topics cover determining what are you charged with; whether you should you fight the ticket; speed violations and speed detectors; other moving violations such as running a stop sign, tailgating, etc.; and driving under the influence.

This book provides step-by-step information on how to prepare your case for small claims court. Topics covered include determining whether you have a good case; how much to sue for; can you collect if you win; when should you sue; who can sue and be sued; where you can sue; filing fees, court papers, and court dates; serving your papers; the defendant's options; witnesses; and your day in court. This book also provides advice for common small claims cases such as motor vehicle repairs and purchases, collecting bad debts, vehicle accident cases, landlord-tenant, and others. Methods to collect your judgment are also considered.

This book provides information on what to expect and do when giving a deposition and what do when taking or defending a deposition. A deposition allows the parties to a lawsuit to question each other and their witnesses about their testimony before trial so that the parties can uncover information that will help support their side of the case. The book provides information on the procedure that is followed when you are the deponent (the person giving testimony under oath). It provides an overview of deposition procedures; discusses how to use depositions in a lawsuit; prepares you to give deposition testimony and provides guidance about responding to questions; tells you what questions you can refuse to answer; and discusses expert witnesses giving testimony. Then the book provides information on the procedure for taking or defending a deposition. It covers the discovery landscape; defending a deposition; deposing a hostile witness; deposing a friendly witness; responding to a defending attorney's roadblocks; and visually recorded depositions.

The first step in starting a lawsuit occurs when the plaintiff files their complaint. This book takes the reader through the steps of drafting an effective complaint or a response to a complaint (an answer). It also covers pre-drafting considerations such as what are your causes of action (what is the basis for your lawsuit), what remedies are you seeking, and choosing the proper court.

This book explains each step in the civil litigation process from pre-litigation through trial for both the plaintiff and the defendant. Detailed explanations of the litigation process are supported by checklists that are designed to ensure that you do everything that you are required to do as you go through the litigation process. Sections cover what is a lawsuit, defining the legal issues involved, starting the lawsuit, knowing what the law actually says, writing focused and precise pleadings, doing effective legal research, drafting your petition or your complaint, answering a pleading, getting credible and admissible evidence admitted, arguing with a judge, developing a proposed scheduling order, understanding frequently used motions, preparing for trial, proceeding to trial, undertaking effective post-judgment practice, and more.

This book is aimed at increasing the knowledge and skills of the beginner expert witness, by providing guidance on what to expect in the courtroom and insight on how to avoid beginner's mistakes. Chapters cover "what is an expert?"; expert ethics; typical cases showcasing the spectrum of the expert's work; discovery, depositions, and the expert at trial; expert witness practice pointers; how an expert writes to and for the legal system; and tips on building a forensic practice.

This book takes the individual who is representing herself in civil litigation through the process of trying her case. Chapters cover what it means to represent yourself in court; provide an overview of the courthouse and the courtroom; tell you how to start your case; discuss pretrial procedures, settlement options, and pretrial motions; discuss how to prove your case at trial from the plaintiff's perspective (the person who is doing the suing); and how to prove your case from the defendant's perspective (the person who is being sued), discuss selecting the decision-maker (judge or jury), and how to make your opening statement; explain direct and cross-examination of witnesses and how to make your closing argument; provide basic rules of evidence; how to make objections; explain how to organize a trial notebook; what to do with expert witnesses; and discuss judgments and how to appeal.

This book lays out the basic principles of civil procedure, using the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as model. Its basic premise is that you will understand the rules when you understand why the rule exists.

Vol 1 - Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules for Electronic Filing, Rules for Family Proceedings, Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, Rules for Small Claims, Rules for Criminal Procedure, Rules of Evidence.
Vol. 2 - Rules of Probate Procedure, Rules of Appellate Procedure, Supreme Court Administrative Orders and Rules, Local Bankruptcy Court Rules (District of Vermont), Local Rules - U.S. District Court (District of Vermont).

The aim of this book is to provide the reader with tools and techniques that may increase the reader's chances of success on appeal. It focuses on how to present an effective appellate brief and oral argument. The book starts with an overview of how appellate courts differ from trial courts, and then moves on to helping the reader prepare by creating a "working outline." The "working outline" forms the basis for the "outline of argument" that appears in the brief that is submitted to the court. To prepare the "working outline", the appellant must read through trial transcripts and spot issues that may result in a different decision on appeal. Next the brief and its importance are discussed along with each of the brief's component (and necessary) parts. The final chapter covers techniques for preparing an effective oral argument. This book includes five sample briefs.

This book aims to provide a well-written and understandable text on consumer law and consumer protection. Each chapter looks at a specific area of consumer law or consumer protection. Chapters focus on fraud and misrepresentation; unfair and deceptive practices; product liability (liability for product defects); warranties; internet scams, forgery, credit card fraud and identity theft; truth-in-lending practices; predatory lending; fair credit reporting; fair debt collection practices; and remedies available to the consumer.

This book explains the laws that benefit and protect you when you are having money problems. Chapters address how much do you owe, creating a budget to control spending; prioritizing debts; finding money to pay your debts; negotiating with creditors; explaining what to expect when you can't pay, reducing mortgage payments and dealing with foreclosure; dealing with debt collectors; understanding loan and other credit documents; understanding student loans; explaining lawsuits & collection judgments; discussing property creditors can't take, and discussing how to rebuild your credit.

This book, published by the National Consumer Law Center, provides expert advice for getting out of financial trouble. Topics cover basic debt survival strategies such as responding to debt collectors, taking out new loans to pay for old debts, reverse mortgages, and collection lawsuits; how to deal with specific types of debt such as medical, credit card, student loans, car loans, and more. Bankruptcy as an option is also discussed.

Independent contractor agreements are flexible, therefore it is important for all parties to agree to terms of the engagement before work starts. This book provides explanations and sample agreements for many types of independent contractor relationships including general independent contractor agreements; consultant agreements; agreements for salespeople; agreements for the provision of household services; accountant & bookkeeper agreements; software consultant agreements; social media consultant agreements; construction contractor agreements; and agreements for gig workers. Sample agreements are included.

Contracts are at the basis of many of our everyday transactions. This book is an encyclopedic reference of essential contract and contract-related terms.

This book is the small business legal forms companion. It provides background information on many of the most common business transactions and the documents that are necessary to memorialize them. Chapters cover the documents required to form a business; to run a corporation (corporate actions); to borrow money; to buy a business; to lease space; to purchase real estate; to buy, sell, manufacture, or lease goods; to hire employees or independent contractors; and to extend credit. Samples of all documents are available.

This book provides an understanding of the vocabulary surrounding contracts, and contract basics. Chapters cover the building blocks of a valid contract including the allocation of risks, representations about the subject matter of the contract, and conditions to performance; the principles of drafting an effective contract, including drafting techniques; drafting contract amendments; waivers, & consents; the form and formalities of contracts; and the review and interpretation of contracts when disagreements arise.

An encyclopedia of criminal law terminology covering topics such as crimes (and the elements of crimes), punishments, the constitutional rights of the accused and prisoners, pretrial and trial procedures, and the rules of evidence, among other topics.

This book explains the criminal justice system, both inside and outside the courtroom, using an easy to understand question and answer format. This handbook guides the layperson through what happens from the time they are first questioned, through the ensuing trial, and thereafter. Chapter topics are devoted to "talking to the police", search and seizure, arrest, eyewitness identification, booking and bail, moving from suspect to defendant, the role of the criminal defense attorney, a walk through criminal court, arraignment, developing a strategy for the defense, types of crimes and their elements, common defenses, what happens during discovery, the accused's fundamental rights at trial, basic criminal evidence rules, motions, plea bargains, the trial process, sentencing, appeals and writs, and victims and their rights.

This book focuses on the constitutional procedural safeguards that are in place to ensure that convictions are obtained only through fundamentally fair procedures. It does this by surveying Second Circuit (VT, NY and CT are in the 2nd Circuit) opinions that interpret these procedural safeguards. Topics covered include appeals, arraignment, arrest, bail and detention, determinations of the accused's competency, confessions, confronting witnesses against the defendant, the role of defense counsel, discovery, what is double jeopardy, exculpatory evidence, grand jury practice, guilty pleas, habeas corpus, ineffective assistance of counsel, juries, juveniles, new trial motions, plea agreements, probable cause, prosecutorial misconduct, search and seizure, self-representation, sentencing, speedy trial, stop and frisk (Terry stops), subpoenas, and more.

This book provides information on primary sources of the law (constitutions, statutes, and case law) and secondary legal resources (encyclopedia, treatises) that explain prisoners' rights.

This manual provides basic information on prisoner rights and how they may be enforced while in prison. Chapters address topics such as the prisoners' conditions of confinement including personal safety and medical care; ensuring prisoners' civil liberties such as religious freedom, freedom of expression, and access to the courts are maintained; ensuring prisoners receive procedural due process such as in disciplinary hearings or administrative segregation; ensuring prisoners receive equal protection under the law; ensuring pre-trial detainees' rights; supporting prisoners civil rights actions esp. under Section 1983 and under The Prison Litigation Reform Act.

This book explains the provisions of the 6th amendment to the Constitution as they impact defendants in criminal prosecutions. Chapters cover the following constitutional protections-- the accused's right to a speedy trial; the right to a public trial, and a trial by jury; the place of prosecution; the right to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusations; the right to confront witnesses who testify against the accused; and the role of the compulsory process clause which protects the accused's right to present evidence on his own behalf.

This book provides an insider's tips on how to win a case for the defendant. Pasano, a criminal defense attorney, combines information from the years of diaries he kept on courtroom antics and relates them to the defense strategies used in a real case. He includes author comments and observations on how criminal defense work is done, including what works and what doesn't. The book guides the reader through the criminal trial process--from the pretrial phase, to jury selection, making opening statements, the government's case including how to handle witnesses, and the case for the defense.

This book guides the prosecutor, the defense attorney, the judge through the criminal trial process with emphasis on the tools that are necessary to be well-prepared for trial. Part One discusses basic evidentiary rules and how to use them. Part Two covers the examination of witnesses. Part Three covers lay and expert opinion. Part Four discusses hearsay and the right to confront witnesses testifying against the accused. Part Five addresses the use of character evidence. Part Six looks at the use of exhibits. Part Seven discusses the opening and closing arguments. Part Eight covers privileges. Part Nine covers special issues such as race; proof of a drug trafficking conspiracy, Miranda (the functional equivalent of interrogation, and taint), and other rules of evidence.

Because there is no universal definition of cyberbullying, this book tries to provide meaning to "what is cyberbullying." It attempts to identify instances of cyberbullying, and addresses the consequences (legal) for those who engage in such actions. Chapters cover the history of the rights of minors; due process in school, juvenile, and family law proceedings; first amendment freedom of speech; cyber-speech and the first amendment--cases affirming protected digital speech, and cases affirming school discipline and prosecution of digital speech; fourth amendment search and seizure of digital devices; family court and cyberbullying issues; sexting, revenge pornography, e-stalking, and defamation actions; civil litigation against bullies; workplace cyberbullying; state cyberbullying laws; and the federal and global response.

This book provides an introduction to blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies. It provides the reader with insight into three aspects of crypto and blockchain technology: (1) an overview of blockchain technology that addresses how blockchains work; (2) an explanation of how bitcoin and crypto derive their value; and (3) the interface of blockchain and the law and the potentials for regulation.

This book provides an overview of the law of privacy from its origins in the Constitution and common law through important changes in modern U.S. laws. Chapters cover the interface of privacy and cyberlaw by looking at constitutional privacy protections under the fourth amendment; the contours of privacy, publicity, and free speech rights; privacy in the workplace; consumer privacy, data security in the business environment; data breach notification laws; children's online privacy; healthcare privacy; and bank and financial sectors privacy.

This book explains what social media law is and why it matters. Chapters provide an explanation of social media platforms' terms and conditions; marketing and promotion on the internet; employment in social media; crowd-sourcing and funding; content, copyright, and licensing as applied to social media; the ethics of social media, and social media torts (civil actions) and crimes.

This book provides an explanation of the IEP (individualized education program) process.
It walks the reader through the steps involved in establishing an IEP program for your child while informing the reader of the rights that you and your child have in the IEP process. Chapters cover an overview of special education and the IEP, developing your child's IEP blueprint, evaluation of your child, who is eligible for special education, exploring your options and making your case, setting down goals for your child, preparing for and attending the IEP meeting, resolving IEP disputes, and filing a complaint when you feel the school district has violated the IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act).

The aim of this book is to help parents and others recognize and understand the federal laws that protect students with disabilities. Chapters cover the history of and enactment of the IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act), early childhood and early intervention services; Special Education and related services, ADA eligibility, evaluations, Individual Education Programs (IEPs), school discipline, and the state administrative complaint process.

A compilation of state statutes that affect the administration and operation of public schools within Vermont.

As later years approach, people are often motivated to get their "affairs" in order. This book helps the reader set up their personal "To Do" list. It provides practical guidance on gathering all the information that you need in one place--family history, financial information, legal documents, online accounts, your wishes about medical care and more--so that things are that much easier for those who survive you at an emotional time.

This book is aimed at helping the family caregiver to understand and organize all the legal, financial, and medical documents related to the person that is cared for. Chapters cover gathering basic important information, preparing emergency contact information, where to find important documents, legal responsibilities of health care agents and powers of attorney, organizing medical matters, deciphering contracts for care, and how to pay for care.

This book is designed to help the reader understand the legal issues that are raised by a diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease or dementia. Chapters cover understanding advance directives (health care agent, powers of attorney, living wills and DNRs), Medicare and what it covers, nursing homes and Medicaid, avoiding pitfalls in nursing home contracts, long-term care for war-time veterans, guardianships and conservatorships, stopping the scammers and opportunists, and care-giving at home requires a contract.

This book provides information on an individual's ability to make end-of-life healthcare and medical treatment decisions. It discusses how and to what extent each state allows the individual to make these decisions ahead of the time when they will be needed by using advance directives. Advance directives include living wills, appointment of healthcare representatives, and the making anatomical gifts. This book includes state-by-state advance directive and living will requirements, and forms.

This book focuses on later life healthcare and financial decision-making. It provides detailed information on the options available to pay for healthcare; the options for the provision of long-term care and how to pay for that care; the legal implications of mental incapacity and the options for dealing with it--guardianship, conservatorship, and powers of attorney; and end of life decision-making.

This book is an introduction to "elder law." Chapters cover late-in-life issues such as healthcare and financial decision-making, social security, veterans benefits, Medicare, Medicaid, retirement plans and benefits, and an introduction to estate, gift, and generation skipping taxes. This book also includes a number of useful sample legal documents including wills, various trusts, powers of attorney, and advance directives.

This book explores an individual's options for long-term care. Today there are numerous options with varying levels of care and expense. This book will help the reader understand the types of care and residence facilities that are available, and explains options for financing or paying for that care.

This is book aims to help employers and small business owners answer questions about common employment issues. Chapters cover hiring, compensation and hours, personnel policy basics, time off, privacy, vacation, unions, protecting trade secrets, firing, how to handle complaints, and departing employees.

This book provides an overview of employment discrimination law and basic discrimination scenarios. Chapters cover discrimination based on race, color, or national origin; religion-based discrimination; Title VII sex discrimination or sexual harassment; sex-specific workplace discrimination (equal pay, pregnancy, FMLA, dress or appearance); age discrimination; and disability discrimination. It also addresses affirmative action and retaliation.

This book provides and overview of the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). First, it helps the reader determine if his company is covered by the FMLA . For companies that are covered by the FMLA, there is discussion about who is eligible for leave, what types of leave are covered, how much leave an employee may take, and how to comply with the notice and paperwork requirements of the statute. Note: This book addresses the federal law, some states have paid family and/or medical leave as well.

This book provides a plain English explanation of the 20 most important federal employment laws that can apply to the workplace. Each chapter is devoted to a specific law, such as the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), and the Pregnancy Discrimination Act. Each chapter explains what is permissible under the law; what is prohibited; what businesses are covered; and how to comply with record-keeping, posting, and reporting requirements.

This book provides employers with strategies that can be used to protect their company and its employees from illegal harassment and discrimination claims. Chapters provide information on how to develop policies prohibiting harassment and discrimination; how to train employees and supervisors; how to handle complaints and investigate them; how to document your company's response; how to take action against wrongdoers; how to prevent illegal retaliation; and how to respond to agency investigations, complaints, and lawsuits.

This is book helps managers and small business owners answer questions about common employment issues. Chapters cover hiring, compensation and hours, personnel policy basics, time off, privacy, vacation, unions, trade secrets, firing, how to handle complaints, and departing employees.

This book provides an overview of the laws affecting employees in the workplace. It addresses the law of workers' compensation and other workplace laws such as OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Act), the Americans with Disabilities Act, Social Security, Unemployment Compensation, the Fair Labor Standards Act, and state and federal anti-discrimination laws.

This book is a legal and tax guide to identifying, hiring, and working with independent contractors, as opposed to employees.

This book answers employees questions about their rights in the workplace. It covers topics such as an employee's right to health insurance, right to privacy, wages and hours standards, health and safety in the workplace, workplace discrimination, and labor unions.

This book provides a comprehensive review of the principles of sports law. Chapters cover sports contracts; agents; labor law; torts including participant injuries, spectator injuries, school liability, coach liability, referee liability, and defamation; defenses to torts; criminal liability; amateur sports; eligibility rules; college scholarships; drug testing; civil rights; and sex discrimination, among other topics.

This book is designed to help readers understand legal issues that are often encountered in the film, television, and entertainment industries. The book orients the reader by starting with a chapter on general contract principles and then covers contract issues that are specific to the world of entertainment. Areas covered include depiction and copyright releases; literary submission and sale; artist employment; collaboration; music for tv programs; production agreements; distribution and exhibition agreements; and merchandising agreements among many others.

This book looks at times in which the law and hunting and fishing have sometimes intersected. Chapter articles address situations where personal injury law, criminal offenses, product liability law, intellectual property law, and freedom of religion have impacted the world of hunting and fishing.

This book provides information on everything that you need to know to run your band. Topics covered include management, entertainment attorneys, performance and touring, copyright and song ownership, and recordings.

This book guides writers on how to set up their business; protect their copyright; avoid infringement; and save on taxes. It includes chapters on using real people in your writing; using pen names; making (publishing) the actual book; financing your book; disclaimers, and marketing and distribution.

This book explains what social media law is and why it matters. Chapters provide an explanation of social media platforms' terms and conditions; marketing and promotion on the internet; employment in social media; crowd-sourcing and funding; content, copyright, and licensing as applied to social media; the ethics of social media, and social media torts (civil actions) and crimes.

This book contains one chapter for each month of the year that cover holidays, big and small, secular and religious. Each chapter looks at a case that explores some legal issues related to holidays, such as the Establishment Clause; First Amendment rights violations; custody and visitation on the holidays; paid and unpaid holidays; Halloween pranks gone wrong; "Blue" laws; and holiday party liability.

This book takes the reader through the legal labyrinth that is adoption, starting with adoption basics such as who are the parties, who may adopt, and the differences between open and closed adoption. It also discusses working with adoption agencies and the birth parents.

This book provides the reader with an awareness of the issues associated with Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART). Chapters cover the medical, psychological, financial, and legal implications of ART; surrogacy; international ART; becoming a sperm, egg, or embryo donor; and, ART resources.

This book provides insight on how to work out a fair and realistic custody agreement, while protecting the best interests of your child(ren). Chapters cover building a parenting agreement starting with basic elements and moving through more specific issues involving serious situations or special challenges (e.g., when parenting styles differ). This book also covers issues beyond the parenting agreement such as alimony, child support, and how to make changes to your existing parenting agreement. Sample forms are included.

This book provides a comprehensive guide to understanding how the child protection system works, including the biases built into the system. It takes the parent/guardian step-by-step through the child protection system and its processes. It starts with a report of possible abuse or neglect being received by DCF (Department of Children and Families) followed by the assignment of that complaint to a Child Protection Specialist (CPS). The book then moves on through the process if investigation is warranted: the danger assessment (to remove or not to remove); a comprehensive assessment of family functioning; a request for temporary investigative authority (TIA) or temporary legal custody (TLC); CPS's affidavit in support of emergency protective services; state attorney's petition for TIA or TLC; the show cause hearing; mediation; adjudication hearing; the dispositional hearing (the treatment plan); subsequent status hearing or review hearing; the permanency plan and hearing; the hearing to dismiss/reunify; voluntary relinquishment hearing; guardianship hearing; termination of parental rights; and the appeal.

This book provides an overview of the status, rights, and obligations of children under American Law. Chapters focus on the parent-child relationship, abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, making medical decisions, financial responsibility for the child, regulating your child's conduct, and juvenile delinquency.

This book walks divorcing parents through everything that they need to know about child custody, shared parenting, and the rules for providing child support in your state. It discusses your options whether you go to court, or explore alternatives outside of court to reach a custody agreement.

This book is written for the family defenders (primarily lawyers and other advocates) who are working with parents or guardians when proceedings have been brought against them by a local child protection service agency--generally cases of abuse and neglect. Chapters cover an overview of child protection laws; first steps in representing a parent accused of abuse or neglect; challenging the removal of children; representing clients involved with the criminal justice system; achieving parental objectives (shorten foster care, reunify, parenting and visitation time; etc.); pretrial proceedings; negotiating for services for the family; the adjudicatory hearing; parents at disposition and permanency hearings; representing parents with disabilities; termination of parental rights; representing parents on appeal; the impact of abuse and neglect findings beyond the courthouse; and reforming the system.

A compilation of Vermont laws that pertain to families.

Written by a divorce attorney with 25-years experience, this book provides a step-by-step guide to the divorce process for the non-lawyer. Chapters cover selecting an attorney that will work for you, preparing for trial or mediation, child custody and support, alimony, and the division of marital property.

This book is the reader's late-in--life divorce companion. Chapters provide guidance on getting financial, legal, and personal help during the divorce process; divorce options; how to divide up the big-ticket items of the marriage; and basically how to make it through the process so that you can move on.

This book focuses on making financial decisions during divorce. It covers the financial realities of divorce including the one's no-one talks about. Chapters cover what you should do with jointly-owned property; how you pay your taxes; protecting your life, health, and property; who owns what marital property; what will happen to the house; and who gets the retirement benefits. It also touches on how to divide debts, and child support and alimony.

This book is the ultimate guide to divorce in the Green Mountain State. Chapters cover grounds for divorce in VT; the divorce process in VT; finding an attorney; using mediation; parental rights and responsibilities; spousal support; grandparents' rights; property distribution; and dissolving a civil union.

This book presents options for ending a marriage (divorce) without resorting to a court - Mediation and Collaborative Divorce. The book explains how mediation and collaboration work in the context of a divorce and then guides the you through the process of both alternatives so that you can work out your own divorce agreement.

This book provides information on the legal matters that affect gay and lesbian couples apart from marriage. Topics cover having and raising children together, buying a home together, making decisions about living together, marrying or registering as a domestic union, making a will and/or trust, making medical decisions for each other, and dealing with the end of the relationship.

This book guides you through the divorce process whether you agree to an uncontested divorce, or must proceed through a contested divorce and trial. Topics cover child custody and parenting decisions, child support, the division of marital property, spousal support, and special issues such as a military divorce.

This book explains what a premarital agreement is and the criteria for creating a valid or enforceable one. Chapters cover the voluntariness of the agreement, spousal support, children and other nonfinancial issues, post-marriage concerns, and the role of counsel and representation. It also includes basic models for drafting an agreement.

This book explains what a prenuptial agreement (or premarital agreement) is and helps you decide if one is right for you. If it is right for you, the book helps you determine what to include in your agreement, and guides you how to put it together in a way that is legally sound.

This book provides insight on how women can protect themselves and their property from issues that may arise as they move through life's relationships. Chapters cover the legal pitfalls of living together; prenuptial agreements; divorce, domestic abuse; caregiving's cost to women; and disinheritance of the surviving spouse.

A compilation of Vermont laws that pertain to families.

This book takes an issues-based approach to the law of agriculture covering the production, marketing, and sale of agricultural products. It focuses on the critical legal issues facing the agricultural industry and consumers addressing topics such as federal farm programs, environmental concerns, migrant labor issues, farm animal welfare, industrialized agriculture among others.

This book provide an introduction on how various areas of the law intersect with food. Chapters cover the regulation of food formulation, manufacturing, labeling, and advertising; food litigation with discussions about the reasonable consumer standard, food safety, and food recalls; federal nutrition programs; considerations for practicing in the international food law arena; as well as food and intellectual property law.

This book is an income tax guide for those individuals who rent out a part or all of their home on a short-term basis. It discusses how short-term renters are taxed, what expenses can be deducted, how to report rental activities on your tax return, the deductibility of losses, and filing Form 1099s (information returns).

This book is a practical litigation guide that provides foreclosure defense tactics to help homeowners retain their homes. The book focuses on alternative dispute resolution to avert a foreclosure action from being filed. If a foreclosure action is filed, the book provides many possible litigation strategies and defenses.

This book helps helps the reader deal with and address the possibility of foreclosure. Chapters provide an explanation of what foreclosure is and the particulars of foreclosure procedure with state-by-state information; help you determine whether to keep your home; provide ways to help you avoid foreclosure (workouts and bankruptcy); and help you to fight foreclosure in court. This book also helps you make the best of your situation if it looks like you can't keep your house such as discussing how long can you stay in your home for free, and how to do a short sale or deed in lieu of foreclosure.

This book looks at neighbor disputes. Chapters cover common neighbor issues such as noise; trees; encroachments; boundaries; obstruction of view; trespass and easements; fences; attractive nuisances; rural neighbors and the right to farm; water; and when your neighbor runs a business in his house.

This book guides you through the home-buying process. Chapters cover determining what you want or need in a house; determining what you can afford; checking out what is on the market; assembling your real estate team; getting a mortgage; buying a fixer-upper or a foreclosure property; tasks to be completed before closing (property inspection, homeowners' insurance, etc.); and the closing itself.

This book provides an overview of residential real estate transactions in Vermont. It covers purchase and sales agreements; financing; condominium ownership; title examinations and title issues; title insurance; required permits; the impact of liens, leaseholds, and easements; closings; and associated transactional taxes. Foreclosure is touched upon.

This book provides a heads-up on what to expect when selling your house. Chapters cover getting expert help (real estate agent, attorney, tax expert); prepping the house for sale; disclosure laws; pricing your house; receiving and evaluating offers; preparing for the closing; and selling without an agent.

This book guides the you through the process of applying for U.S. citizenship. It will help you determine if you are eligible; help you to fill out the forms in the right way; and prepare you for taking the exam, and your citizenship interview.

A resource provided by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. This toolkit contains educational materials that are designed to help citizenship applicants learn more about the United States and to prepare them for the naturalization process.

This book explains the procedures for applying and obtaining a visa or green card when you are engaged to or are married to a U.S. citizen. Part of the process includes not only the paperwork, but also proving that your marriage is not a sham.

This book is for the foreign-born person who wishes to make their home in the U.S. This book explains the green-card application process; provides help filling-out required forms; provides tips on dealing with government officials; and provides a heads-up of what could go wrong.

This book provides a quick reference guide on key issues associated with all types of visas and I-9 applications. It provides an eligibility analysis (a short review of the requirements for any given visa petition), and practice pointers that address difficult issues that may arise. There are checklists that provide guidance on what to include in a petition.

This book provides a quick reference to federal and administrative cases, regulations, statutes and significant administrative agency rulings in the area of immigration law. A Sourcebook is not a detailed treatise, it provides a pinpoint reference to significant cases or laws on a particular topic, or provides a basis for further research.

This book is will help you determine whether you meet the criteria to obtain either a green card or a temporary visa. It explains what difficulties you may have to overcome in your application, and helps you strategize your application process. It also helps you deal with bureaucratic delays, and lets you know when it is time to find a lawyer.

Intellectual property covers the ideas of inventors, writers, and artists that have been transformed into tangible property that may be protected by the law. Creators of intellectual property (IP) are granted specific rights that protect their interests. This book provides a desk reference that helps explain the world of IP - patents, trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets.

This book provides a step-by-step guide to filing a patent application at the U.S. Patent Office. An introduction explains what a patent is and what it protects. Chapters cover "what it is an "invention;" the provisional patent application (PPA); is it patentable; how to do a patent search; determining whether you should patent; drafting drawings and specifications; patent claims; finalizing your application; marketing your invention; and getting the patent office to take action on your application.

This book is for small business owners who want to trademark their business. It provides a basic primer on trademark law and explains how you can protect your name. Chapters cover trademark, domain names, and the internet; how to choose a good name for your business, product, or service; how to do a trademark search; federal trademark registration process; how to use and care for your trademark; and sorting out trademark disputes.

This guide is structured to enable the planning department of a local government to address those topics that have the most significant impact on the affordability of housing in Vermont.

This book helps environmental information seekers to locate, obtain, and make sense of environmental records, documents, and data. The book discusses environmental research tactics and resources and covers methods for obtaining information from non-traditional resources like government offices and open meetings.

This book covers both the law and policies behind agriculture in the U.S. Chapters cover issues such as agriculture and the agricultural law (industrialization of agriculture, sustainability, and the family farm); federal programs that provide financial support to agriculture; the intersection of agriculture and environmental law; financing farming operations; agricultural labor law; livestock production and marketing; animal welfare and farm animals raised for food; biotechnology and agriculture; food safety; and the changing climate.

This book is a cohesive guide to the site plan and development review process in Northern New England. Part I of the book describes the components of development plans and summarizes the goals and processes considered in their review. Part II is devoted to the more common impacts associated with typical developments such as air quality, noise, erosion, traffic, forestry, wildlife, and aesthetics among others. The impacts are discussed to facilitate interpretation of site plans and their accompanying narratives.

This book guides the reader through the Act 250 process, the law regulating land-use development in Vermont. Contents include beginning the Act 250 process (planning the project); participation in Act 250 hearings; Act 250 hearings; testimony & evidence; decisions, permits, & enforcement; and appeals. Each of the ten Act 250 criteria (and their sub-criteria) are discussed in detail.

This book is a handy guide to basic zoning laws. The reader will find simple explanations of common land use terminology such as "special use," "conditional use," and "variation." The book discusses how the land use planning process relates to zoning and discusses the nature of zoning litigation. It addresses property rights guaranteed by the Constitution and lays out the basic planning process and zoning procedures. It also discusses zoning issues that implicate the First Amendment and explores energy production (wind farms and fracking) that have been the subject of zoning litigation.

This book provides best practices for the part-time landlord covering move-in to move-out of the tenant. Chapters address "who is the part-time landlord"; what is the part-time landlord's competitive edge; how to select rental properties; finding your inner handyman; preparing rental units for tenants; rental maintenance; working with service contractors; getting great tenants; starting the tenancy on the right foot (lease terms, and onboarding); effective landlord communications; moving tenants out; and tracking income and expenses for tax purposes.

This book guides landlords through the process of complying with federal and state laws that govern their conduct. Chapters cover screening of tenants; preparing leases; basic rent rules; security deposits; discrimination; co-tenants and sublets; landlord's duty to repair; landlord liability for tenant injuries; landlord's right of entry; ending a tenancy, terminations, and evictions; and state specific requirements.

This book arms the tenant with the tools that are needed to deal effectively a landlord. Chapters cover leases and rental agreements; basic rent rules; security deposits; inspecting the rental unit; roommates, guests, and airbnbs; major and minor repairs; making improvements; the right to privacy; environmental hazards; criminal activity on the premises; termination of the tenancy; evictions; and state specific requirements and laws.

This book provides an overview of landlord/tenant law, with an explanation of most of the rules that govern the landlord/tenant relationship, and any exceptions that may apply. Chapters include types of tenancies; termination of a lease other than by the end of its term; the tenant's right to possession and use; repairs and improvements; the warranty of habitability; rent and security; extensions, renewals, and options to purchase; and rent control.

The lease or rental agreement is the contract that forms the basis of the landlord/tenant relationship. Along with some state and federal laws, it sets out the rules of conduct that guide the tenant's and landlord's behavior. This book takes you step-by-step through the process of preparing a rental agreement. It provides key forms and state specific requirements.

This book provides all the tools (tenant's rights) that a tenant needs to deal with his landlord. Chapters cover leases and rental agreements; paying your rent; security deposits; discrimination; roommates; repairs and maintenance; tenant's right to privacy; the modification or termination of a lease; landlord retaliation; rent control; and getting help with your dispute. This book includes state specific laws.

This book provides more than 100 ready-to-use forms and contracts for a variety of everyday legal and practical transactions that occur in life. Covered transactions include powers of attorney, carpool agreements, notice to a creditor of death; rental applications; co-signor provisions on a note; motor vehicle bill of sale; a childcare agreement; an agreement for joint purchase; and much more.

This book is an introduction to American legal principles. It is a user guide to well-established principles of law and the spirit in which they are applied. Basic concepts of the law are explained in plain English. Chapters covered include the basics of the American legal system, contracts, torts, constitutional law, alternative dispute resolution, and how court procedure works.

Black's is the most widely-used law dictionary in the United States.

This book provides quick answers to questions that crop up about families and the law. Topics include changing your name after marriage, what is a common law marriage, separation or divorce, interference with child custody, who can adopt, and baby's first legal documents.

This book provides answers to many of the frequently asked questions about hundreds of subjects that you can encounter in everyday life. Topics include what are a landlord's duties for tenant safety, what to do before you start a small business, and how to deal with debt collection.

This book explains terms of the law in everyday, understandable language.

The Bluebook is a style guide that prescribes the most widely used system of legal citation in the U.S. It is taught in most major law schools in the U.S., and is used by a majority of the federal courts.

This book is unlike other bibliographies of self-help law books in that it provides a subject specific bibliography of legal resources. There is introductory material that provides an introduction to researching the law, a roadmap to legal information, a brief overview of the U.S. justice system, and information about general works on U.S. law. From there it moves to subject specific areas of the law such as administrative law, agricultural law, animal law and so on. Each subject has a prefatory section explaining a bit about the area of the law and provides links to online sources that further explain the topic so that the user can gain a good understanding of the area of the law in which they are searching. The author then provides a curated selection of books or texts on the subject matter--secondary sources and self-help books--for review.

The goal of this book is help you learn how to find, understand, and apply the law. It provides the basics of the law (what is the law, sources of the law, state versus federal law) so that you understand what you should be looking for. It tells you where to find legal resources for the various sources of the law (statutes, cases, etc.) and how to frame your legal issue so that you can research efficiently.

This book is designed to help the reader perform legal research effectively and confidently. It explains the legal research process for each of the various sources of the law and then explains how to conduct research for that particular source. It does this for legislation (statutes), case law, U.S. and state constitutions, administrative law, court rules and practice, and international law.

This book is designed as a handbook on how to research government documents. After providing an introduction on the documents produced by each branch of the government it delves into the various sources for finding these documents, such as USA.gov, the Government Publishing Office Indexes (The Catalog of Government Publications; MetaLib; and the U.S. Government Bookstore Catalog. It explains how to find technical report literature, maps and GIS, and historical government documents.

This handy desk reference is a concise companion to the ultimate psychiatric reference, DSM-5. It includes the fully revised diagnostic classifications, and the diagnostic criteria from DSM-5 in an easy to use format.

This book addresses common legal issues that arise in the lives of adults with mental illness, and provides information on how those closest to them can help. Topics covered include health law; criminal law; employment law; consumer law; and death and the law;

This book provides guidance on the parameters of correctional mental health. Each chapter is designed to help the correctional mental health practitioner with an understanding of relevant treatment and the legal issues that arise when providing care. Topics covered include an overview of providing care within the correctional setting; clinical evaluation and care within correctional facilities; and special inmate populations.

This nutshell contains a broad array of subjects where the law and mental health meet. Subjects covered include an introduction to mental health professionals, an overview of psychiatric disorders; confidentiality; expert testimony; criminal law matters; civil matters; liability of mental health professionals; and financial and medical benefits for the mentally disabled.

This book provides the guidelines(not rules) for providing psychiatric care in correctional facilities.

This book is a complete resource for servicemembers, veterans, and their families. It will help them clarify their legal issues, understand their options, and locate assistance. Topics covered include family law & the military; debt and finance for military families; housing, real estate, and landlord/tenant issues; motor vehicle sales, finance and repair issues; military health care and insurance; military service and employment rights; discharge from the military; disability issues; and veterans benefits.

This book is an integrated resource that provides information on researching veterans benefits, those offered by the federal government and the states. It provides information on the specific laws governing veterans' benefits such as education benefits, health benefits, and disability compensation.

This Manual is an issue-oriented guide to the law of federal veterans' benefits. Topics covered include veterans' basic eligibility for VA benefits; compensation for service-connected disabilities; setting, increasing, or reducing a veteran's service-connected disability rating; VA benefits for family members; effective dates for awards of benefits; VA healthcare; the VA Adjudication Process; advocacy on behalf of the VA claimant; and correction of military records.

Leading lawyers discuss arguing disability, pension, and other claims before the V.A. Chapters cover understanding the legal needs of veterans, active-duty military, and reservists; helping veterans and their families obtain benefits denied by the VA; representing veterans in disability and compensation claims; assisting military veterans with disability claims; and supporting military veterans through the claims process and appeals.

This book explains in simple language how to incorporate your non-profit in any state, and how to obtain 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status from the IRS. It provides line-by-line instructions to walk you through the process of creating and qualifying as a tax-exempt entity.

This book contains all the amendments to the text of the Model Nonprofit Corporation Act (MNCA), the Official Comments, and Statutory Cross-references as adopted in August of 2008.

This book addresses the practical legal issues that are faced by nonprofit organizations. The reader is introduced to the legal issues that arise when a charitable organization is formed, when it raises funds, while it is operating, and when it terminates or operates in a different form. It explains state law requirements for starting a charitable organization, explores the fiduciary duties of the board of directors, and examines what is required to qualify as a 501(c)(3) (tax-exempt organization). It addresses legal issues associated with raising funds including charitable contributions, solicitations, private foundation rules, and non-profit commercial activity. It discusses what constitutes inurement, private benefit, and excess benefit transactions, lobbying and political campaign activities, and federal and state accountability rules.

This book provides a practical overview and general understanding of legal issues faced by nonprofits. This book covers the formation, taxation, governance, and documentation issues associated with nonprofit organization and operation.

This book is your retirement companion. It helps you determine what type of retirement plan you have and provides an overview of the tax rules that apply to retirement plans. It discusses early distributions (before retirement); required distributions; and distributions to your beneficiaries.

This book provides an overview of Social Security programs, and discusses how one becomes insured. It explains derivative benefits (spouse, former spouse, surviving spouse, children etc.) and explains the process for determining who qualifies for derivative benefits. It explores the evidence that is required by the Social Security Administration to determine eligibility for benefits. It also discusses Social Security disability, SSI, and Medicare.

This book provides information on how to successfully fight for the payment of medically reasonably necessary services when Medicare erroneously denies payment or when Medicare erroneously demands repayment of an overpayment. It focuses on the Administrative Law Judge hearing.

This book helps the reader learn about four types of long-term disability insurance: individual, group, Social Security, and Veterans Affairs. Readers are offered detailed information (in each case) about the claims process, including common reasons that claims are denied, frequent filing mistakes, and insight on how to effectively communicate with claims examiners and physicians.

The Social Security Administration uses two different systems to distribute disability benefits (SSI and SSDI). This book leads the reader through the practical and legal issues associated with applying for disability payments, appealing decisions to deny benefits, and making sure that you receive benefits for as long as you need them.

This book is intended to help those who are approaching retirement to obtain all the benefits to which they are entitled. Covered benefit programs include Social Security (retirement and/or disability), Supplemental Security Income, veterans benefits, civil servant benefits, and Medicare and Medicaid.

This book provides an overview of Social Security law and practice, including administrative advocacy and appeals to federal court. Its focus is the major cash benefit programs under the Social Security Act--Old Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Chapters address an overview of coverage; eligibility for Old Age or Survivors Benefits; eligibility for disability benefits; the disability determination process; calculation and payment of benefits; administrative advocacy; and judicial review.

This book explains how you may provide for a loved one's special needs while protecting their government benefits. Chapters address who can benefit from a special needs trust, how trustees can (and cannot) use trust funds, how to fund a special needs trust, the trustee's job, how to choose a trustee, and creating your special needs trust.

This book is a concise guide for those struggling with student loan management. Topics cover the different types of student loans; the players in the student loan market; repayment options; loan forgiveness programs; consolidation and refinancing; tips for avoiding default; and strategies for optimizing repayment.

This book aims to help the small business owner pay less in federal taxes by taking advantage of all available business deductions. Topics covered include the basics of tax deductions; a business vs. a hobby for tax purposes; business start-up expenses; business operating expenses; deducting the cost of long-term (fixed) assets; deducting the cost of inventory; office expenses; car and travel expenses; the business pass-through deduction; the cost of hiring workers; and additional miscellaneous deductions.

This book is an income tax guide for those individuals who rent out a part or all of their home on a short-term basis. It discusses how short-term renters are taxed, what expenses can be deducted, how to report rental activities on your tax return, the deductibility of losses, and filing Form 1099s (information returns).

This book helps the reader navigate dealings with the IRS. It addresses the issues that people most frequently face when contacted by the IRS. Topics include what to do if you fall behind on filing your tax returns; how to handle an IRS audit from start to finish; appealing when you don't agree with audit results; taking your tax problems to court; negotiating with an IRS tax collector; settling a tax debt through an Offer in Compromise; removing tax liens and levies; and self-employed and small business tax issues.

This book focuses on maximizing tax deductions for professionals such as doctors, lawyers, architects, accountants, dentists, consultants, engineers, therapists, and veterinarians. Topics covered include tax deduction basics; choosing a business entity in which to conduct your business (which affects deductibility of expenses); operating expenses; business travel expenses, local and long-distance; the home office deduction, or the deduction for outside offices; deducting the cost of long-term (fixed assets); start-up expenses; deducting the cost of inventory; and more deductions.

This book sets-out all the information that the reader needs to obtain a fair settlement from the insurance claims system. Topics covered include the determination of legal responsibility; initial steps to setting up your claim; understanding your insurance coverage; how much is your claim worth; processing your claim; property damage claims; negotiating a settlement; and last resorts e.g., lawyers, arbitration, and courts.

Tort law is the area of the law that determines when one person may be held liable for wrongfully injuring another person or their property; it is the law of civil wrongs. This book provides a comprehensive, easily understandable account of tort law. It explains what a tort is and provides an overview of the categories and types of torts. Thereafter, a chapter is devoted to each type of tort such as negligence; torts against the physical person such as battery, false imprisonment, assault, and related intentional torts; torts against property such trespass, conversion, and defamation; torts that impose liability without fault such as strict and products liability.

When someone in your family dies, there are a myriad of questions that need to be answered such as what do we do about a funeral, where are the keys to the safety deposit box, and who is going to take care of the dog. This is not a book about probate; though, it is a book about providing answers to the broader questions that occur when someone dies. It helps family members do the detective work that they need to do to find the answers to the location of the the key to the safety deposit box, and other important questions.

This book helps individuals explore the options that they have for estate planning. It provides the information that individuals need about estate planning tools so that they can be better prepared to make decisions about which plan is best tailored to their needs. Topics covered include transferring property without a will (e.g., life insurance and survivorship property); wills and what should be included; using trusts including living trusts; putting these tools to work for your situation; and an overview of death taxes.

This book helps you to protect your estate for your loved ones. It explains wills and the probate process, and asks if you really need a will. It discusses how to change or revoke your will, and addresses common will problems. It talks about the spouse's and children's rights to a share of the estate, and discusses will contests. It explains trusts and the many forms that they can take, and addresses the role of the personal representative of your estate and trustee of your trust. It also addresses estate taxes and taxation of trusts.

This book explains what a will is and why you would need one. It discusses the benefits of using a living trust as a will substitute. It tells you how to provide and care for your children when you are gone, and explains what probate is and how to avoid it. It discusses the ins and outs of typical retirement plans, and tells you how to prepare for your possible incapacity. It also provides an overview of estate taxes, and provides guidance on preparing your estate plan.

This book is for the person who has been designated as responsible for winding up the affairs of someone who has died. The personal representative or executor is responsible for collecting the assets of the decedent, paying his debts, and distributing the assets according to the will and law. This book leads the executor through her duties and rights as she administers the estate of the decedent through the steps of probate.

This book explains what a "living trust" is and how it avoids probate. It also provides you with the building blocks to create your own living trust.

This book is a Vermont-specific resource that explains the fundamentals of estate planning, estate and gift taxes, marital deduction planning, special needs planning, post mortem estate planning, and the use of life insurance in estate planning.

This book guides you step-by-step through the process of preparing your own will in simple and uncomplicated terms.

This book explains how you may provide for a loved one's special needs while protecting their government benefits. Chapters address who can benefit from a special needs trust, how trustees can (and cannot) use trust funds, how to fund a special needs trust, the trustee's job, how to choose a trustee, and creating your special needs trust.

The trustee is the person who is responsible for administering your trust. The trustee has duties and rights that are imposed by the terms of the trust and the law. A trustee is responsible for managing the assets of the trust, and distributing them according to the terms of the trust. This book guides the trustee through these duties, and the issues that the trustee may face in carrying them out.