The topic of restorative justice is related to many areas of law and culture. In addition to browsing specialized journals, you can try various terms and phrases to search the databases.
Here are some terms to get you started:
- Circle process
- Community-based corrections
- Effectiveness of restorative justice
- Peacemaking circles
- Restorative dialogue
- Restorative justice case study
- Restorative justice criminal law
- Restorative justice policy
- Restorative justice and [your topic or jurisdiction here]
- Truth and reconciliation
- Victim restoration
Tip: Use AND and OR modifiers and put quotes around phrases to narrow search results.
Hit a paywall? No problem!
Search the library catalog to see if we subscribe to the journal (be sure to enter the journal title, not the article title).
If we do not have the journal for the date you need, place a free interlibrary loan request and we can procure the article for you.
Journals
- Contemporary Justice Review
The journal publishes work on: social and restorative justice theory; restorative justice demonstration projects; peacemaking criminology; state crimes and healing from genocide; peaceful methods of conflict resolution; truth and reconciliation commissions; environmental justice; critiques of criminal justice institutions and law; structural issues of justice in the family, school, and workplace; utopian visions of a just society; and non-violent, needs-meeting solutions to needs-denying, power-based social arrangements. - The International Journal of Restorative Justice
An academic peer-reviewed journal about restorative justice. Articles are written by experts featuring original and current research on theoretical, practice and policy developments, debates about practices, models or recent innovations, book reviews and ‘Conversations’ with prominent figures known globally for their contributions to the field.
Databases
- Bar Journals This link opens in a new windowContains more than 140 titles featuring nearly all state Bar Journals, select publications from the American Bar Association, and City Bar Journals.
- Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowContaining hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
- Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Global Environmental Justice Documentaries and Criminal Justice, Law and Legal Studies Collection. Register a personal account to create favorites lists and clips. All Docuseek films include Public Performance Rights for group and individual viewers, as long as it is not for commercial benefit.
- Law360 This link opens in a new windowContaining current news from more than 40 practice area, industry, and state sections, Law 360 includes articles about restorative justice initiatives and outcomes for a variety of law specialties.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowThis collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts provides access to millions of reports from think tanks, agencies, governments and cities. It includes in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowAccess hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Coverage: 1985 - present.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowThis Statistical Abstract of the United States is the online version of the reference staple. It is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
