Journal Articles
You have access to thousands of online journals available through Lexis+, Westlaw, and other major journal vendors, which aggregate and index articles and citations.
If you're looking for articles on an unfamiliar subject or a resource to help your students get started with their research, be sure to check for a relevant research guide, which walks through a variety of research options.
When providing article links to your students, we recommend providing them with either 1) an institutional link that includes the school login for articles available through a VLGS database, 2) a link to a free resource online, or 3) information about requesting the article through interlibrary loan. Too often, we hear about students paying for articles they could've obtained for free. Please help your students avoid this mistake!
Finding the Full Text of an Article
 |
| A close-up of search results from a database that contains the full text of some articles and only citations for others. |
Most of our databases include the full text of articles, but many also contain entries with only citations and abstracts.
To obtain the full text of an article if you only have a citation:
- Check JULIEN using the journal title (NOT the article title). If we have access to the journal online or in print, it will show up in the catalog.
- If we have the journal online and our subscription includes the issue/volume/year you need, you can click the link in the catalog record to access the journal.
- If we have the journal in print and our coverage includes the issue/volume/year you need, email the article information to library@vermontlaw.edu, and we will scan the article and email it to you.
- If we do not have direct access to the journal, or to the specific issue/volume/year you need, we can get a digital copy of the article for you through ILL.