Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Online Resources
These free websites offer resources on various topics in food and agriculture law. They each cover multiple topics that have linked resources (articles, laws, regulations, news, etc) in the topic/issue sections. It's a great place for researching a topic and finding background information. Some resources also have links to statues and regulations.
FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database on national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management. Users of FAOLEX have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database. Subjects include biodiversity, environment, fisheries, forest, and wildlife.
National Agricultural Law Center
The National Agricultural Law Center at the University of Arkansas is an independent, federally funded, nonpartisan research and information center that serves as the nation's leading source of agricultural and food law research and information. one of the most popular service is the complete collection of digitized farm bills from the original in 1933 to the most recently enacted 2008 version. Legislative history of each of the farm bills, research articles, and links to outside sources concerning the farm bills are included in this section.Comprehensive reference library sorted by topic, such as agricultural leases, agri-tourism, animal feeding operations, food labeling, local food systems, and pesticides.
National Agricultural Library by USDA
A resource site by USDA. It covers topics including animal welfare, buying organic food, farmland tenure, starting a farm, water and agriculture, etc.
Agricultural Employment at U.S. Department of Labor
Includes links to web pages on agricultural employment, and laws & regulations.
Farm & Food Legal Resources by Center for Agriculture and Food System at Vermont Law School
Farm and Food Legal Resources is a collection of online, existing legal resources compiled and organized by the Center for Agriculture & Food Systems (CAFS). CAFS developed this resource for individuals and organizations involved in sustainable food and agriculture. Consequently, the materials reflect an emphasis on sustainability, local and regional food systems as well as the innovations in food and agriculture occurring at the state and regional level.
Resources on workers, business structures, land matters, food safety, sales & contracts, value-added tourism, and insurance.
Farmer's Legal Action Group
Farmers’ Legal Action Group (FLAG) is a nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land. It offers publications on topics such as GMOs, Food Safety, Alternative Energy, Disaster Management, etc.
Farmland Information Center
The Farmland Information Center (“FIC”) is a clearinghouse for information about farmland protection and stewardship. Includes legal information in areas including farm transfer and estate planning, farmland protection, farm bill, conservation, and land leasing. Use the top navigation menu to access their rich information on laws
(articles, books, reports) and statistics
Institute for Agriculture & Trade Policy
The Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (“IATP”) is a non-profit organization promoting fair and sustainable food, farm, and trade systems. Issues include agricultural technology, climate change, agroecology, farm bill, energy, food justice, rural development, and industrial meat.
USDA Economic Research Service
Covers various topics; includes reports, data, and articles.
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition is an advocacy organization that seeks federal policy reform to “advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.” In particular, their website provides information on “Marketing, Food Systems & Rural Development,” including local and regional food systems, organic production, farm-to-school programming, and food security issues.