Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cornell Library at Vermont Law & Graduate School

Legislative History Research (Federal): Bills

Locating the Text of Bills

Bills are proposed legislation from the House or Senate. Bills from each chamber are assigned a number in the order in which they are introduced. Congressional sessions last for two years, and when a new session begins, bill numbering for that session's legislation starts over.

Examples:

H.R. 8 (the 8th bill from the House of Representatives during a session of Congress)
S. 535 (the 535th bill from the Senate during a session of Congress)

The text of bills can be found in a number of resources including those recommended and listed below. Bills are also often found within specific Congressional Reports and also in the Congressional Record

Westlaw

Westlaw provides the following:

Congressional Bills includes summaries and the text of  congressional bills and resolutions introduced into the current session of Congress.

Historical Federal Bills, 1995 - 

Bill Tracking includes summaries and status information for current legislation. A legislative calendar is also included.

CRS Bill Summaries for introduced bills, are written by the Congressional Research Service, for the current session of Congress.

Lexis Advance

Lexis provides the following:

> Bill Text (Congressional Full Text Bills),   1989 -    (in separate databases by congressional session)

> Congressional Bill Tracking Reports        1989 -    (in  separate databases by congressional session) 

In the VLS LIbrary

Congressional Bills 1980-2000  can be found in the Library's Microfiche Collection

Searching  the Julien catalog for: Bills, Legislative -- United States is also recommended. Note the many Congressional Research Service Reports specific to bills that are listed for HeinOnline.

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional provides:

Bill Text  1989 -

Bill Tracking  (with summaries) 1989 -

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides: 

In the  U.S. Congressional Documents Collection, under Additional Resources, a list of House and Senate bills 1900-2010. 

Congress.gov

Congress.gov provides: 

Text of Congressional Bills, 1993-

FDSys, GovInfo and the Library of Congress

FDSys and GovInfo provide:

Text of Congressional Bills, 1993-

The Library of Congress provides:

Text of House Bills 1799-1873 and Text of Senate Bills 1819-1873

 

Library Homepage