Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cornell Library at Vermont Law & Graduate School

Legislative History Research (Federal): Hearings

Locating the Text of Hearings

When bills are introduced, they are referred to the committee having jurisdiction over that area of legislation, which often holds public hearings to gather testimony, opinions, and information regarding the legislation. Witnesses, who are often experts, make valuable and well-documented presentations, which include analysis from uniquely informed perspectives.​

The text of hearings can be found in a number of resources  including  often on individual committee websites, and on those recommended and listed below. 

Hearings are also normally included in Compiled Legislative Histories.  

Westlaw

Westlaw provides the following:

U.S. Congressional Testimony includes elected coverage, 1993- ; and increased coverage 1996-

U.S.  Political Transcripts includes oral testimony from congressional committee hearings among other transcripts,  1994-

Lexis+

Lexis provides the following:

Congressional Hearings  1824 -   (In the main search box, type "committee hearings" Select Congressional Hearings 1824 - from the sources listed in the drop down menu)

CQ Congressional Testimony 1993 -   (In the main search box, type "committee reports" Select CQ Congressional Testimony  from the sources listed in the drop down menu)

 

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional provides:

Hearings, 1834 -

Go to Advanced Search, select Hearings 1834 - Present.                                        Recommended: When searching, use the "All fields including full text" option, from the pull down search menu. 

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides: 

Hearings, 1927 - In the  U.S. Congressional Documents collection.

Government Sources (Free)

Congress.gov offers hearing transcripts beginning with the 103rd Congress (1993) forward. For those hearings that have transcripts, you will see “Transcript Available” to the right of the hearing's title in your search results.

 

GovInfo.gov provides hearing transcripts beginning with the 104th Congress (1995) forward. Select transcripts are available from earlier years, and digitization of prior Congresses' hearing transcripts is an ongoing project.

Library Homepage