Comparative and International Environmental Law Research, Spring 2024: Free Online Resources

Free access to laws from most countries in Asia.

A joint project of Columbia Law School and the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at the London School of Economics, this database contains over 3,000 climate laws and policies and over 2,100 climate litigation cases from around the world with new documents added frequently. A country profile for each nation lists details of carbon production and timelines for the enactment of climate measures. Summaries of each document are in English; however, laws themselves may be available only in the original language.

Climate litigation summaries and opinions organized into two databases: U.S. cases and global (non-U.S.) litigation. A project of Columbia University's Sabin Center for Climate Change Law.

Compare current versions (translated into English) of constitutions. Find constitutions that contain specific provisions, e.g., those that provide environmental protections. Use the "Search | Topics | Filters" options menu at the top left to find what you're looking for.

Gateway to environmental law. The ECOLex database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.

FAOLex is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database on national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management maintained by the UN Food & Agriculture Organization. Users of FAOLex have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database. Subjects include biodiversity, environment, fisheries, forest, and wildlife.

GlobaLex provides comparative, foreign and international law research guides organized by country and by subject.

A subsite of FAOLex, WaterLex contains water resource laws from around the world. Search by country or by water basin.

The World Legal Information Institutes are free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law for a variety of jurisdictions. Particularly good for UK materials (BAILII) and Asian-Pacific jurisdictions (AsianLII and PacLII)