How to Use a Database
VLGS Library subscribes to a wealth of databases on various subjects, including environmental databases, legal journals, legal guides, etc. Access all of our databases through https://libguides.vermontlaw.edu/databases.
NOTE: a VLGS login is required when accessing any database off-campus.
Below are some subscribed databases of interest to researchers in foreign, comparative, and international environmental law.
Databases - Secondary Sources
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law This link opens in a new windowThe Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law provides comprehensive coverage on environmental subjects such as water, energy and climate change. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading. Currently, 3 volumes titled I. Climate Change II. Decision Making in Environmental Law III. Biodiversity and Nature Protection Law are available.
- Environment CompleteOne of the best resources for full text journal articles! This resource offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and applicable areas of environment studies. This valuable database contains full text articles for hundreds of journals and monographs dating back over 100 years.
- HeinOnline International & Non-U.S. Law JournalsThis is a sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains journals on the subject of international law and journals published outside of the the U.S.
About HeinOnline Law Journal Library: Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowAn essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.
- JSTORA large and eclectic collection of full text non-law journals in a number of subject areas that support research in energy law including technology, statistics, environmental sciences, business, economics, general science, etc.
News Articles Databases
- Greenwire This link opens in a new windowGreenWire provides daily coverage of environment and energy issues including those related to food and agriculture. It covers politics and policy with news stories and special Reports. Greenwire not only covers major regulations, legislation and court cases, but explains the issues with depth and breadth.
Coverage goes back to 1996. - The New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe NYTimes.com Pass provides each VLS student, faculty and staff member with a complimentary subscription to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, as well as their international editions.
- The Washington Post This link opens in a new windowUnlimited digital access to WashingtonPost.com from the school’s network. Expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary.
Databases - Primary Sources
- HeinOnline U.S. Treaties and Agreements LibraryThis library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
- HeinOnline World Constitutions IllustratedThis resource includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
- China Law Info (English) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides users with English version of China laws & regulations, judicial cases, tax treaties, white papers, law journals and gazettes, as well as other China legal information such as legal news and legislative/regulatory updates.
- Environmental Law ReporterEnvironmental Law Reporter is a one-stop environmental law and policy research site with access to over 40 years of ELR analysis, extensive links to statutes, regulations and policies, a
comprehensive subject matter index, International Materials, State News, and International News.
Statistics Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.