Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cornell Library at Vermont Law & Graduate School
New Resource Highlight
Cornell Library at VLGS has sponsored campus-wide access to WashingtonPost.com for all students, staff, and faculty.
To enjoy unlimited access, Go to The Washington Post – VLGS site and enter your VLGS login credentials if prompted via the green Microsoft login screen.
Access includes current news coverage with expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world.
For a more customized experience, you may Sign In from the upper-right corner of the website. On the login screen, enter your VLGS email address and the password you created when you set up your account.
First-time users: Click the “Sign Up” link at the bottom of the login screen to create an account. Use your VLGS email address, then verify your account using the link provided in an automatic email from The Washington Post.
New York Times - Online
The VLGS Library has an academic subscription to NYTimes.com for all students, faculty, and staff. This includes unlimited articles access.
To activate a NYTimes.com Pass please follow these steps:
1. Go to the VLGS New York Times site.
2. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your VLGS email address.
3. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.
4. Now you can enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps just by logging into your NYTimes.com account from any location, on or off campus.
5. Download your NYT apps by visiting nytimes.com/mobile
After a year, you'll need to renew your account periodically by redoing the activation steps and confirming your association with the VLGS community.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Most of the journals are in full text, available in HTML and PDF formats.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
AILA Link This link opens in a new window
ALIA is maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) and designed specifically for legal professionals who need quick access to reliable and up-to-date immigration law information and guidance.
Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights This link opens in a new window
With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800s, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more.
Bar Journals This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 140 titles featuring nearly all state Bar Journals, select publications from the American Bar Association, and City Bar Journals.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights combines all of the content formerly found in Gale Business: Insights and Gale Business: Global. Find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
China Law Info (Chinese) This link opens in a new window
Research Chinese Laws in Chinese language. Includes primary laws and law journals.
China Law Info (English) This link opens in a new window
This database provides users with English version of China laws & regulations, judicial cases, tax treaties, white papers, law journals and gazettes, as well as other China legal information such as legal news and legislative/regulatory updates.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
ClimateWire This link opens in a new window
ClimateWire is designed to bring readers unmatched coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Climate issues have become so pervasive, and our clients' interest in climate change has become so intense, that developing ClimateWire became an inevitable means to expand and enhance E&E's already top-tier coverage of this critical issue area.
Congress and the Courts This link opens in a new window
This library, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. Also included are Federal Judicial Center Publications, Periodicals, Links to Scholarly Articles, CFR Title 28 - Judicial Administration, Other Related Works, and much more.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of online full-text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. All are listed in JULIEN, but they can be searched full-text through the Ebook Central site.
EcoAméricas This link opens in a new window
EcoAméricas covers development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience of NGOs, agencies, and businesses in a monthly publication. Includes a guide to the environmental agencies of 24 Latin American countries.. The search engine allows searching back to 1998.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law This link opens in a new window
The Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law provides comprehensive coverage on environmental subjects such as water, energy and climate change. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading. Currently, 3 volumes titled I. Climate Change II. Decision Making in Environmental Law III. Biodiversity and Nature Protection Law are available.
EnergyWire This link opens in a new window
EnergyWire provides readers deep, broad and insightful coverage on the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world.
Environment & Energy Daily This link opens in a new window
Designed for policy players who need to know what’s happening to their issues on Capitol Hill. From federal agency appropriations to comprehensive energy legislation, E&E Daily is the place insiders go to track their environmental and energy issues in Congress.
Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Law Reporter® is an essential online research tool edited by attorneys that provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and applicable areas of environment studies. This valuable database contains full text articles for hundreds of journals and monographs dating back over 100 years.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window
Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to 1 U.S. 1, 1 F.2d 1, 1 F.Supp. 1, and 1 B.R. 1. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions. Fastcase also provides access to a newspaper archive, legal forms, and extensive federal and state docket materials.
Foreign & International Law Resources This link opens in a new window
FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
An essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of sixteen titles multivolume reference ebooks within the areas of: Business, Environment, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studie, Science, and Social Science.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
GreenWire provides daily coverage of environment and energy issues including those related to food and agriculture. It covers politics and policy with news stories and special Reports. Greenwire not only covers major regulations, legislation and court cases, but explains the issues with depth and breadth.
Coverage goes back to 1996.
Gun Regulation & Legislation
This HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window History of Supreme Court Nominations This link opens in a new window
This library features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Browse by Justice option allows you to see relevant works related to that Justice, including links to articles, a bibliography of other works, and links to Scholarly Articles.
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
InsideEPA This link opens in a new window
Includes daily news, the "Weeks Top Stories", "Hot Documents" and a database of special reports, policy papers, comments, draft and final regulations, court decisions, legislation, state proceedings, etc. Searchable archive back to 1998.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large and eclectic collection of full-text non-law journals in a number of subject areas that support research in environmental law including Ecology, Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Populations Studies, Sociology, Statistics, etc. Includes, for example, Ecology back to 1920, and the Journal of Ecology back to 1913.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
An online film streaming service. The collection includes documentaries and films on Politics & Current Affairs, Science, Nature & Technology, Ethnicity & Identity, and Environmental Sciences. All Kanopy films include Public Performance Rights for group and individual viewers, as long as it is not for commercial benefit.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
Law360 has more than 40 practice area, industry, and state sections that cover litigation, legislation and regulation, corporate deals, major personnel moves, and legal industry news and trends. It includes sections on Energy and Environmental.
Law in Eastern Europe (Book Series) This link opens in a new window
This series of more than 60 titles showcases the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe. Per the agreement with the publisher, there is a 2 volume delay.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis provides access to U.S. federal and state law sources as well as sources of international law and the laws of a growing number of other jurisdictions. Sources vary by jurisdiction, but may include constitutions, legislation, legislative history, statutory codes, regulations, regulatory materials, cases, case digests, citators, public records, law reviews, treatises, and general and legal news.
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations.
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
The NYTimes.com Pass provides each VLS student, faculty and staff member with a complimentary subscription to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, as well as their international editions.
OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Onefile Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.
OneFile General This link opens in a new window
Gale General OneFile provides access to an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. The addition of a browse-by-subject feature allows users to easily view content of interest on the most popular and most-searched topics within several distinct categories, including news, current events, health, and computers and technology.
Open Society Justice Initiative
The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Oxforddictionaries.com is your destination whenever you need language guidance: every time you need to know the meaning or pronunciation of a word, how to translate it into another language, or whether you’re using it correctly. It’s your first point of reference and your guide to the language of today.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
Session Laws Library This link opens in a new window
This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception!
Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This Statistical Abstract of the United States is the online version of the reference staple. It is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
U.S. Congressional Documents This link opens in a new window
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-present), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.
Urban Land Institute This link opens in a new window
The Urban land Institute "initiates research that anticipates emerging land use trends and issues, proposing creative solutions based on that research". The web site includes news, articles, case studies and links on urban land issues such as civic engagement, public policy, smart growth, sustainable development, transportation, urban design, development and regeneration, international urban land. Some information is free.
To access members-only information, ask a librarian.
The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Unlimited digital access to WashingtonPost.com from the school’s network. Expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary.
Water Rights & Resources
Water Rights & Resources gathers together government documents and reports, hearings, codes, supreme court briefs, committee prints, periodicals and scholarly articles about water rights and related topics, all in one place.
West Academic Study Aids Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital collection of study aids, treatises, audio lectures, and newly added audio books in the 500+ titles of the Study Aids Digital Collection.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides online access to U.S. federal and state law sources as well as sources of international law and the laws of a growing number of other jurisdictions. Sources vary by jurisdiction, but may include constitutions, legislation, legislative history, statutory codes, regulations, regulatory materials, cases, case digests, citators, public records, law reviews, treatises, and general and legal news.
Westlaw UK offers UK cases and legislation, dockets, regulations, law journals, bill tracking, UK news, treatises and commentaries in eBook format, and EU content.
Electronic Resources & Technology Librarian