Off-campus Access to Databases: Home

Most library e-journals & databases are restricted to use only by current VLGS faculty, staff, and students. When you are on-campus you are on the VLGS network and should be automatically authenticated to view content.

To access databases from off campus, go to the list of library dabatases and select the database you wish to search. You will be prompted to enter your VLGS login and password. 

If you experience any problems accessing databases off campus, try these troubleshooting steps:

• Try using a different browser.
• Enable cookies and JavaScript in your browser.
• If you are using computers from your internship or workplace -- Corporate firewalls could possibly block users from accessing electronic resources. Ask your IT / network administrator if they can check to see if an exception is required for this prefix: https://login.vermontlaw.idm.oclc.org/login?url=. 
• If the above solution does not work, try adding the full URL to the firewall exception. (Right click on the database name on library database page to copy the URL).
• Getting an EZProxy Hostname error? This could indicate a source needs to be added to the VLGS Library's database configuration file. Please alert library staff.
• Still having trouble? Email us. (A screenshot of the error page will be very helpful!)

Several databases require a separate account from your VLGS login:

• Lexis+
• Law360 (use your Lexis credentials)
• New York Times
• Washington Post
• Westlaw

Need a password? Send an email to Sarah Scully.

Having trouble loading a shared URL? If someone sent you a link to an article from a database or website that VLGS subscribes to and you are seeing a prompt to log in or pay for the document, try reloading the page through the proxy bookmarklet.

1. Drag and drop the button below to your bookmarks toolbar to save it.

2. Load the shared link to the article you are trying to access.

3. Click the bookmarklet in your browser toolbar to reload the article page via the proxy server.

Check VLGS Library

If you are still having trouble, please contact Sarah Scully for assistance.

Some access problems may have to do with your computer, network connection, or VLGS account.

Contact the VLGS Help Desk with questions about:

• Your VLGS email and password.
• CampusWeb login.
• Connecting to the campus network or VPN.
• Printers at VLGS.
• Compatibility with your particular hardware/operating system/firewall setup.
• Other technical questions relating to these configurations.