Vermont Legal Resources - Help with Your Civil (Non-criminal) Legal Issues

Is bankruptcy the right option for you?

VTLawHelp (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage dedicated to helping you decide whether bankruptcy is the right option for you. 

Filing for bankruptcy in Vermont - U.S. District Court for the District of Vermont - Bankruptcy Court:

• Provides information about the forms required to file for bankruptcy and local court rules. 
• Provides Bankruptcy Basics which explains the bankruptcy laws and process, and includes a Bankruptcy Basics video. 
• Provides resources to help debtors (a pro se information packet, credit counseling and education, and discharging student loan debt) and creditors through the bankruptcy process.   

Bankruptcy court is held in Burlington and Rutland.  The main telephone number is (802) 657-6400. 

• Upsolve is the largest non-profit organization in the country that helps low-income individuals by providing an app which walks them through the process of filing for bankruptcy for free.  The site includes bankruptcy FAQs, and a learning center that addresses topics such as bankruptcy basics, property and exemptions, wage garnishments, and what happens to your debts. 
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral -  call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• Qualified low-income Vermonters  - Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• S. Royalton Legal Clinic -  call (802) 831-1500 or email srlc@vermontlaw.edu - veterans' bankruptcy only - statewide.   

Vermont's consumer laws prohibit businesses from engaging in unfair or deceptive acts or practices.   

VTLawHelp (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage that provides information on your rights as a consumer, and how to report fraud. Consumer legal issues cover:

• Identity theft, internet safety and privacy,
• Your rights in debt collection,
• Junk mail, telemarketing & other scams, and
• Fraudulent business practices.

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) provides consumer advice on identifying many forms of potential fraud, including how to prevent identify theft and protect your personal information and identity online; and how to recognize scams, avoid them if duped, and how to report and recover on them.  The FTC encourages you to file a report when you are a victim of fraud. 

The National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) has created a number of guides and resources that help consumers understand their rights as consumers. The guides cover topics such as car loans, consumer credit reporting, debt and bankruptcy, and fraud, and robocalls. 

REPORT FRAUD:

• File a consumer complaint with the FTC. 
• Get legal help from NCLC or report fraud. 

• Vermont's Consumer Division of the Attorney General's Office is primarily responsible for enforcing Vermont's consumer laws.  Contact the Consumer Assistance Program to file a complaint online, call 1 (800) 649-2424, or email AGO.CAP@vermont.gov. 
• Qualified low-income Vermonters - Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1-800-639-7036 or fill-out the online request form.

Are you dealing with creditors? Do you want to know how to protect your income and your assets from debt collection?  

VTLawHelp (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage that discusses your rights during debt collection, things that debt collectors can and cannot do, and how to protect your income and assets from debt collection.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) is a federal agency that is dedicated to ensuring that debtors are treated fairly by banks, lenders, and other financial institutions. The CFPB Debt Collection page provides resources and guides on how debt collectors are required to deal with you and your rights during the collection process. If you are having trouble with a financial product or service provider you can file a complaint with CFPB.

The U.S. Department of Education handles student loan repayment plans and student loan forgiveness.  NCLC (the National Consumer Law Center) provides help through its Student Loan Borrowers Assistance Program. 

CLIC also has a book published by NCLC - Surviving Debt:  Expert Advice for Getting Out of Financial Trouble. The book talks about debt survival strategies, and discusses how to deal with specific types of debt such as medical, credit card, student loan, car loans, utility terminations, and mortgages among others. 

Legal resources:

• Green Path Financial Wellness (financial counseling services) - call 1 (800) 550-1961.
• Qualified low-income Vermonters - free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 

Disability can take many forms, physical, intellectual, developmental.  Certainly the nature of the disability may affect the needs of the disabled individual.  Legal issues can arise in a number of ways.  An individual with disabilities may need long-term care, special education accommodations, or access through assistive technologies.  A disabled individual may be facing discrimination in employment or public housing. The legal issues are numerous. 

VTLawHelp, a site operated by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont discusses numerous legal issues associated with disability. Topics covered include developmental disability services, assistive technology, disability benefits, discrimination based on disability and the client assistance program. 

For Legal Help:

One of Vermont Legal Aid's broad projects is the Disability Law Project.  The DLP helps people with civil legal problems related to their disability. Legal Aid gives legal advice, supports self-advocacy, and represents clients and their families in courts, hearings and other settings.  Call (800) 889-2047 or fill out the online intake form.

VTLawHelp (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) has a number of webpages that provide information on what to do about housing discrimination and employment discrimination. 

The EEOC (Equal Employment Opportunity Commission) enforces federal laws that prohibit workplace employment discrimination. Federal laws make it illegal to discriminate on the basis of a person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy related conditions, sexual identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age ( greater than 40 years of age), disability, genetic information, and veterans' status. Employees and applicants may file an employment discrimination claim online, in person, or by calling 1 (800) 669-4000.

Resources to help you protect and enforce your rights:

Vermont's Human Rights Commission (HRC) addresses discrimination that occurs in housing, state government employment, and public accommodations. Complaints may be filed with the HRC. 

• Fair Housing Resources 
• Employment Discrimination 
• Discrimination in Places of Public Accommodation (schools, hospitals, professional offices, hotels, and retail stores) 

Ending a marriage or civil union can involve a number of legal issues:

• alimony or spousal maintenance,
• child support,
• property settlement agreements,
• and child custody.  

Vermont Law Help offers a guided interview that through a question and answer format results in the forms that you need to file your complaint for divorce. Once the interview is complete the forms are generated and you able to preview; edit; and then download, save, print, or email the forms to yourself so that you can file them with the appropriate court.  Vt Law Help also walks you through the steps for getting a divorce with the "Roadmap:  How to get a divorce in Vermont", They also provide information on spousal support, child support and custody and establishing parentage. 

If you need help filling-out the form, contact Vermont's Access & Resource Center (ARC), where they will help walk you through the guided interview and answer your questions about court procedure. Email selfhelp@vtcourts.gov or call (802) 879-1185. 

• The Vermont Judiciary provides information on the legal process (including required forms) to end a marriage whether there are children involved or not and whether one spouse is in the military.  
• For qualified low-income Vermonters there a number of ways to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• For child support issues - Vermont Department of Children & Families - Office of Child Support offers assistance - call 1 (800) 786-3214.
• Windsor County Family Law Information Sessions are held at Windsor County Superior Court, 82 Railroad Row, Wither River Junction on the 4th Friday of each month from 1:00-4:00pm. (Schedule subject to change).  Appointments are required, please call ahead (802) 295-8865. Attorneys answer family-law related questions including divorce, parentage, custody, child support and other related topics. 

Vermont law provides some protection from physical or sexual abuse within families and other close relationships.  Relief from Abuse (RAF) actions are brought in the Family Division of the courts.  An action for relief from abuse, neglect or exploitation of vulnerable adults is also brought in the Family Division.

If someone who is not a member of your family, (and not someone you lived with or dated) is stalking you or sexually assaulting you, you can seek an order requesting that the person stop in the Civil Division of the courts. 

Vermont Law Help (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) provides a roadmap for "Getting a Relief from Abuse Order (RFA) in Vermont."  It also provides information on how to request an order against stalking or sexual assault. 

If you are being physically or sexually abused, neglected, or exploited, there are number of public service organizations that provide immediate help:

• To report child abuse contact the  Vermont Department of Children and Families (Family Services Division), Ph. 1 (800) 649-5285.
• Vermont Network against Domestic and Sexual Violence, call (802) 223-1302.
• Pride Center VT, LGBTQ+ Safe Space, call (802) 860-7812.
• Vermont Commission on Women, call 1 (800) 881-1561.

• Have Justice Will Travel - call 1 (877) 496-8100 or email info@havejusticewilltravel.org - serves Bennington, Caledonia, Essex, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Washington & Windham Counties. 
• Steps to End Domestic Violence Legal Aid Advice Clinic - call (802) 658-3131.  Advocates provide information to help victims navigate the legal system and paperwork, and provide emotional support in the courtroom. 
• WISE of the Upper Valley - call 1 (866) 348-9473 - serves Orange & Windsor counties.
• Safeline call 1 (800) 639-7233 - serves Orange & parts of Windsor county. 
• Justice for Victims Legal Clinic is a service offered by The Vermont Network against Domestic and Sexual Violence. This clinic focuses on legal issues arising out of sexual and domestic violence, dating violence, stalking, and sexual trafficking. Attorneys give advice and provide representation on the following matters: relief from abuse/protection orders, sexual assault or stalking orders, divorce, child custody/support, Title IX cases, criminal matters if you are a victim participating in a case against a perpetrator, and accessing restorative justice services. They do not provide defense in criminal cases or take civil damage suits.   Fill out the referral form, call (802) 798-2907 or email legalclinic@vtnetwork.org.
• There a number of ways for qualified low-income Vermonters to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• S. Royalton Legal Clinic -  call (802) 831-1500 or email smee@vermontlaw.edu - serves Orange, Windsor, and Washington counties.  Divorces, parentage/custody issues for survivors of domestic violence and other victims of crimes in Windsor and Orange counties.  Representation of children in Family and Probate Courts in Orange, Windsor and Washington counties. 
• Prevent Child Abuse Vermont - call (802) 229-5724
• Vermont Parent Representation Center - call (802) 540-0200 or email info@vtprc.org.

The employment relationship can give rise to a number of legal issues. 

Vermont Law Help (a site maintained by Vermont Legal Aid and Legal Services Vermont) provides information on employment related legal issues such as worker rights (wages and hours), unemployment benefits, workers' compensation, and H2A farmworkers. 

• Vermont Department of Labor - call (802) 828-4000. 
• For qualified low-income Vermonters there a number of ways to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• H2A Farmworkers - contact Cielo Mendoza, staff attorney at Legal Services Vermont, Ph. 1 (800) 889-2047.
• Federal Employment Law - The U.S. Dep't. of Labor provides employment law assistance for workers and small businesses.  The DOL provides interactive online tools or Advisors that help employers and employees learn about their rights and responsibilities under various Federal employment laws.  (Topics include pay & benefits, health & safety, youth employment, and veterans' issues among others.) 

In Vermont, certain commercial and subdivision development projects require an Act 250 permit.  Act 250, the Land Use and Development Law, is a state statute that was enacted to provide a permit process that assesses the environmental, aesthetic, and community effects of a proposed development against 10 different criteria. The aim of the process is to ensure that development projects do not unduly harm the environment and to give a voice to the concerns of local and regional communities. The Natural Resources Board oversees the administration of Act 250 and the permitting process, including a determination of whether a permit is required. 

The Natural Resources Board has 9 district offices as follows:  Call for an appointment.

• District 1 -  (Rutland county) District 1 Coordinator, Kim Lutchko, ph. (802) 786-5099 or email kim.lutchko@vermont.gov
• District 2 - (Windham & southern half of Windsor  county)  - District 2 Coordinator, Stephanie Gile, ph. (802) 289-0597 or email stephanie.gile@vermont.gov
• District 3 - (northern Windsor and Orange county except for towns of Washington, Williamstown, which are in District 5) - District 3 Coordinator, Peter Kopsco, ph. (802) 261-1947, or email: peter.kopsco@vermont.gov 
• District 4 - (Chittenden County) - District 4 Coordinators, Stephanie Monahan, ph. (802) 261-1944 or email stephanie.monahan@vermont.gov and Kaitlin Hayes, ph. (802) 622-4084 or email kaitlin.hayes@vermont.gov.
• District 5 - (Washington & Lamoille counties, and towns of Williamstown, Washington and Orange) - District 5 Coordinator, Susan Baird, ph. (802) 522-6428 or email susan.baird@vermont.gov
• District 6 - (Franklin & Grand Isle counties) - District 6 Coordinator, Josh Donabedian, ph. (802) 261-1945 or email joshua.donabedian@vermont.gov
• District 7 - (Caledonia, Orleans & Essex counties) - District 7 Coordinator, Kirsten Sultan, ph. (802) 261-1946 or email kirsten.sultan@vermont.gov
• District 8 - (Bennington county) - District 8 Coordinator, Kim Lutchko, ph. (802) 261-1942 or email kim.lutchko@vermont.gov
• District 9- (Addison county) - District 9 Coordinator, Josh Donabedian, ph. (802) 261-1945 or email joshua.donabedian@vermont.gov

There are also state, local, or federal laws that may impact your development. Vermont's Department of Environmental Conservation is primarily responsible for assuring compliance with its environmental regulations and issuing environmental permits.   

If you disagree with a decision by an environmental regulator, the Vermont Judiciary provides information on environmental appeals and mediation. 

The courts will appoint a guardian when a person is unable to care for himself physically or financially or both.  Once appointed, the guardian is responsible for making decisions about the person's welfare and wellbeing, and can exercise financial oversight of the income and resources of the person under guardianship.  The guardian should include the person who is under guardianship in decision-making processes, as much as possible. Guardianships can be modified and terminated.  Different rules apply to adult and minor guardianships. 

Adult Guardianships:

• The Vermont Judiciary provides information on adult guardianship (voluntary and involuntary) and the judicial processes associated with each one.  Much of this information is provided in the Judiciary's Guardian Booklet (which covers both adult and minor guardianships).
• Vermont Law help also has a webpage devoted to adult guardianships. 
• The state's Developmental Disabilities Service Division, Office of Public Guardian also provides information on petitioning for an adult guardianship and addresses possible alternatives to appointing a guardian.

Minor Guardianships:

Typically parents are the guardians of their children, but there are times when it is in the best interests of the child for the court to appoint a non-parent guardian who will provide for the personal care and protection of the child or her property.  The Vermont Judiciary provides information on the role of the financial or custodial guardian for the minor, the processes involved in petitioning to be a guardian, and the obligations of the guardian, once appointed. The Judiciary also provides a link to the Department of Children and Families' Kinship Guide which provides information on the role and responsibilities of  adults who are caring for the children of relatives or family friends. 

• For qualified low-income Vermonters there a number of ways to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• S. Royalton Legal Clinic -  call (802) 831-1500 or email smee@vermontlaw.edu - Provides representation of children in Family and Probate Courts in Orange, Windsor and Washington counties. 
• Vermont Parent Representation Center - call (802) 540-0200 or email info@vtprc.org.  Per their website, VPRC is a non-profit, social work, public policy organization that is dedicated to ensuring, through advocacy and support, that children who can live safely with their parents are given a real opportunity to do so.  

Healthcare matters cover a wide range of issues such as health insurance options, access to care, eligibility for state programs, Medicare, prescription drug coverage, billing issues, claim denials, and appeals of benefit denials.

Housing legal issues include both rental-related matters (e.g., landlord/tenant issues and evictions) and homeownership  (e.g., foreclosures).  

Tenants who face the threat of eviction or homelessness contact:

• The Local Community Action Agency for your area.  Input your town or city and the agency finder will provide contact information. Local community action agencies help lower income Vermonters to meet their basic needs and become self-sufficient. 
• Vermont HUD (Housing and Urban Development) provides rental assistance and eviction prevention help.  To contact HUD in Burlington, call (802) 951-6250 or email vt_webmanager@hud.gov.  

For landlords and tenants who would like to work out their problems without resorting to the courts, the Vermont Landlord Association offers the Landlord-Tenant Mediation Program for those who qualify. 

Vermont Law Help (a website maintained by Vermont Legal Aid & Legal Services Vermont)  provides general information on landlord tenant law, and specific information on Vermont's Residential Rental Agreements Act (RRAA), which includes a list of both landlord and tenant rights and duties.  The landlord/tenant pages also include a "Security Deposit Roadmap" and information on the eviction process.   

If you are being evicted or threatened with eviction, the Vermont Judiciary provides general information to help you understand the eviction process before you speak with an attorney. 

Legal Resources:

• Free Statewide Tenant Hotline (802) 864-0099 or email vttenants@cvoeo.org.  For more information on tenant's rights visit the Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity (CVOEO) website.   
• There a number of ways for qualified low-income Vermonters to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form.   
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or online request form. 
• Vermont Volunteer Lawyers Project - rent escrow clinics
  •   Addison County - call (802) 388-4237. Located at 7 Mahady Court, Middlebury (Thursday afternoons).
  •   Chittenden County - call (802) 863-3467. Located at 175 Main Street, Burlington (Tuesday afternoons).
  •   Rutland County - call (802) 786-5880.  Located at 83 Center Street, Rutland (Wednesday mornings).
  •   Washington County - call (802) 828-2091. Located at 65 State Street, Montpelier (Monday mornings).

Vermont Law Help (a website maintained by Vermont Legal Aid & Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage that explain the foreclosure process in Vermont, including information on how you can request foreclosure mediation to discuss options for staying in your home. 

• There a number of ways for qualified low-income Vermonters to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• The NeighborWorks Alliance of Vermont - consists of 5 local groups that provide statewide assistance with foreclosures: 
  • RuralEdge in Lyndonville call 1 (888) 698-8466,
  • Champlain Housing Trust in Burlington, call (802) 862-6244,
  • Downstreet Housing & Community Development in Barre, call (802) 476-4493,
  • NeighborWorks of Western Vermont in West Rutland, call (802) 438-2303, and
  • Windham & Windsor Housing Trust in Brattleboro, call (802) 254-4604.
• Vermont Department of Financial Regulation Consumer Banking Mortgage Assistance  - The Vermont Banking Division may be able to help facilitate conversations between you and your bank.  Call (802) 828-3307 or email dfr.bnkconsumer@vermont.gov.

Immigration and citizenship issues largely involve federal law.  Vermont Legal Aid does not provide advice on immigration and citizenship issues, but there are number of other resources available to Vermonters who need help with immigration or citizenship matters. 

• The Immigration Assistance Project at Vermont Law School's South Royalton Legal Clinic - Call (802) 831-1500 or email smee@vermontlaw.edu.  Covers asylum, visas for survivors of domestic violence, trafficking and other crimes; special immigrant juvenile cases, removal defense cases, and other humanitarian-based relief. Applies statewide. 
• Association of Africans Living in Vermont (AALV) provides pro bono (free) immigration legal services, if you qualify.  Call (802) 985-3106 or email info@aalv-vt.org. 
• Citizenshipworks is a free online tool that provides information about citizenship and can help with your application.  While Citzenshipworks does not provide legal advice, it can connect you with legal help. 
• Welcoming All Nationalities Network (WANN) of Upper Valley - WANN is located in Lynne, New Hampshire, but serves the Upper Valley, Vermont.  Call (603) 448-5922 or email development@uppervalleywann.org.  
• International Institute of New England (IINE) has an office in Manchester, NH but serves all of New England.  IINE provides family, humanitarian, business immigration, and citizenship services.  Call (617) 695-9990 or email legal@iine.org. 

Public benefits (assistance) whether state or federal can take many forms.

Vermont Law Help (a site maintained by Legal Service Vermont and Vermont Legal Aid) provides a webpage with information on how to navigate various benefits or assistance programs such as state DCF (Department for Children and Families) benefits and appeals, energy assistance, food benefits, housing assistance, and social security disability (SSDI) and supplemental income (SSI) benefits and appeals. 

• There a number of ways for qualified low-income Vermonters to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• For Social Security Disability and Supplemental Income assistance issues, there are three Social Security Offices in Vermont:
  • Burlington - call 1 (877) 840-5776
  • Montpelier - call 1 (877) 505-4542
  • Rutland   - call 1 (866) 690-1944

• BROC - Community Action in Southwestern Vermont (https://www.broc.org/) - 45 Union Street, Rutland, VT 05701.  Call (802) 775-0878 or 1 (800) 717-2762.
• Capstone Community Action (Central Vermont) (https://www.capstonevt.org/) - 20 Gable Place, Barre, VT 05641.  Call (802) 479-1053 or 1 (800) 639-1053.
• Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity (CVOEO) (https://www.cvoeo.org/) - 255 South Champlain Street, Burlington, VT 05402.  Call (802) 862-2771 or 1 (800) 287-7971.
• Northeast Kingdom Community Action (NEKCA) (https://www.nekcavt.org/) - 10 Main Street, Newport, VT 05855-5110.  Call (802) 334-7316 or (802) 748-6040 (St. Johnsbury).
• Southeastern Vermont Community Action (SEVCA) (https://sevca.org/) - 91 Buck Drive, Westminster, VT 05158.  Call (802) 722-4575 or 1 (800) 464-9951. 

Do you need help with healthcare documents (a living will, power of attorney, appointment of healthcare agent), estate planning documents (wills and trusts) or probate administration (what to do when someone dies leaving property)?  

Vermont Law Help (a website maintained by Vermont Legal Aid & Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage that is dedicated to senior issues and concerns. 

Vermont Association of Area Agencies on Aging provides information and help to Vermonters who are 60+ years of age and to their families. The helpline is 1-800-642-5119. The Area Agencies provide resources such as meals and nutrition, Medicare information and advocacy services.  There are 5 regional offices:

• Age Well - serving Addison, Chittenden, and Franklin/Grand Isle counties (except for Granville & Hancock).  Call (802) 865-0360. 
• Northeast Kingdom Council on Aging - serving Caledonia, Essex and Orleans Counties.  Call (802) 748-5812. 
• Central Vermont Council on Aging - serving Orange, Washington and Lamoille Counties (Includes Granville, Hancock. Pittsfield, Bethel, Rochester, Royalton, Sharon & Stockbridge).  Call (802) 479-0531.
• Senior Solutions (Council on Aging for Southeastern Vermont) - serving Windham & Windsor counties (except for Bethel, Rochester, Royalton, Sharon & Stockbridge.  Includes Searsburg, Readsboro, Thetford & Winhall).  Call (802) 885-2669.
• Southwestern Vermont Council on Aging - serving Bennington & Rutland Counties (except for Pittsfield, Winhall, Searsburg & Readsboro).  in Rutland call (802) 786-5990 and in Bennington call (802) 442-5436. 

• Vermont Legal Aid provides free legal resources to Vermonters who are 60 or older through its Elder Law Project. 
• For qualified low-income Vermonters there a number of ways to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral -  call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 

Starting and operating a small business involves many different areas of the law.  Vermont's Community Legal Information Center has numerous books that are available to the public and which take a business owner through the steps of starting and operating a business.  You may access a list of those books here or you can go to the Vermont Law and Graduate School online library catalog (Julien) to look for CLIC holdings.  

Once you have decided to form a business a good place to start is the Vermont Secretary of State's Office which provides an online Business Start-up Tool or call (800) 439-8683.  

• Vermont Small Business Administration - call (802) 828-4422 or email 
• Vermont Small Business Development Corp. - call (800) 464-7232 or contact online. 
• SCORE Vermont - is an all volunteer organization that provides mentoring support - call (802) 764-5899 or email: scorevermont@scorevolunteer.org
• The Center for Women & Enterprise (VT) helps women launch and successfully run their businesses.   Call (802) 391-4870 or email:  Info.Vermont@CWEonline.org

• Vermont Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• Vermont Law and Graduate School - Entrepreneurship & Legal Lab (VLSELL) - offers support, education, and outreach on legal topics impacting diverse and disadvantaged businesses and business owners in Vermont. 

Small claims court is available only if you are suing or being sued to recover an amount of money that does not exceed $5,000. 

If you are considering a lawsuit, the Vermont Judiciary provides guidance to help you figure out whether small claims is right for you.

Legal Services Vermont and Vermont Legal Aid cannot help with small claims cases, but Vermont Law Help (a website maintained by Vermont Legal Aid & Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage that guides you through the small claims process and includes an instructional video road map. 

• Chittenden County Bar Small Claims Clinic - call (802) 879-6304. This clinic provides information for individuals who do not have an attorney.  It provides an opportunity to ask an attorney questions about your case and the small claims process. The attorneys do not provide legal advice and are not representing you in your case.  The clinic is generally held the first Tuesday of each month from 2:00pm to 4:00pm, excepting holidays. 
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• ABA Free Legal Answers Vermont - is a free service provided by the American Bar Association that allows qualified individuals to ask volunteer attorneys a specific civil legal question.

If you have received a letter from the IRS or the Vermont Department of Taxes that says you owe money, you have options on how to respond. 

Vermont Law Help (a website maintained by Vermont Legal Aid & Legal Services Vermont) has a webpage on taxes that provides information on what to do if the IRS says you owe money including penalties for late filing and late payment of taxes. 

The Taxpayer Advocate is available when the taxpayer has not been able to resolve tax issues through normal agency channels.

• Vermont tax disputes - Vermont Taxpayer Advocate - call (802) 828-6848 or email tax.taxpayeradvocate@vermont.gov  
• Federal tax disputes - Taxpayer Advocate Service of the IRS - Vermont Office 128 Lakeside Ave., Ste. 204, Burlington, VT 05401. Call (802) 859-1052.  

• Vermont Legal Aid - Low Income Taxpayer's Clinic (LITC).  Call 1 (800) 889-2047. 
• VT Bar Association Lawyer Referral - call 1 (800) 639-7036 or fill-out the online request form. 
• ABA Free Legal Answers Vermont - A pro bono (free) program run by the American Bar Association.  You can ask volunteer attorneys a specific question about your civil legal issue.

• Vermont - for tax return filing assistance, call 1 (866) 828-2865 or use free-file.
• IRS (Federal) - for tax return filing assistance use the VITA/TCE locator service, call 1 (800) 906-9887, or use IRS free file. 

If you  have questions about veteran's benefits or services, try Vermont's Office of Veteran Affairs webpage on Benefits and Services or call (802) 828-3379.  

The EEOC (Equal Employment Opportunity Commission) is tasked with enforcing federal laws that prohibit workplace employment discrimination. Federal laws make it illegal to discriminate on the basis of a person's race; color; religion; sex (including pregnancy related conditions, sexual identity, and sexual orientation); national origin; age (over 40); disability, genetic information; and veterans' status. Employees and applicants may file an employment discrimination claim online, in person, or by calling 1 (800) 669-4000.

The EEOC joined with the Department of Labor and the Department of Justice to provide a single document explaining that veterans are protected by federal laws from discrimination because of their military service, veterans' status, disability, or any of the other reasons listed above. The document helps veterans determine which federal laws and agencies are responsible for enforcing their workplace rights, and directs them where to seek assistance if they believe that their rights have been violated. The document also discusses reemployment rights and what to do if you experience retaliation. 

• Stateside Legal - provides self-help, advocacy and legal assistance. 
• For qualified low-income Vermonters there a number of ways to access free or reduced cost legal services through Vermont Legal Aid or Legal Services Vermont - use the Legal Help Tool, call 1 (800) 889-2047, or fill-out the Legal Help Request Form. 
• The Veteran's Legal Assistance Program (VLAP) operates within the South Royalton Legal Clinic and was established to provide pro bono legal assistance to Vermont's military veterans.  VLAP represents veterans with state civil law issues in Windsor and Orange counties, and on a statewide basis in veteran specific legal matters such as appeals from denial of VA benefits and discharge upgrades.  VLAP also helps with veterans' debt issues such as bankruptcy relief, foreclosure defense, and consumer protection. Call (802) 831-1500 or email smee@vermontlaw.edu.
• S. Royalton Legal Clinic -  call (802) 831-1500 or email smee@vermontlaw.edu -  The South Royalton Legal Clinic provides legal assistance for low income residents of Windsor and Orange counties in civil legal matters.  Assistance is provided in cases such as family matters (divorce, separation, parentage and child support); bankruptcy; landlord/tenant; and wills and guardianships.  
• National Veterans Legal Services Program (NVLSP) - is a nonprofit organization that is dedicated to ensuring that our government delivers to the nearly 22 million veterans and active servicemen the benefits to which they are entitled. The Lawyers Serving Warriors Program offers free legal help with four issue areas to veterans from all eras, no matter where they are located.  The four issues areas are (1) discharge upgrades, (2) military medical retirement, (3) combat related special compensation, and (4) the Servicemembers' Group Life Insurance Traumatic Injury Protection Program. NVLSP encourages online applications which can be accessed by clicking on "applications".