Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cornell Library at Vermont Law & Graduate School

Subscription Databases: Off-campus access

This Guide gives you the access point to VLS subscribed databases, tips for off campus access, and databases tutorials.

Troubleshooting Tips

Most library e-journals & databases are restricted to use on campus, or use off-campus only by current VLGS faculty, staff, and students. To access databases off campus, go to the list of library dabatases, then enter your VLGS login and password. 

If you experience any problems accessing databases off campus, try below troubleshooting tips:

  • Try using a different browser.
  • Enable cookies and JavaScript in your browser.
  • If you are using computers from your internship or workplace -- Corporate firewalls could possibly block users from accessing electronic resources. Ask your IT / network administrator if they can check to see if an exception is required for this prefix: https://login.vermontlaw.idm.oclc.org/login?url=. 
  • If the above solution does not work, try adding the full URL to the firewall exception. (Right click on the database name on library database page to copy the URL).
  • Getting an EZProxy Hostname error? This could indicate a source needs to be added to the VLGS Library's database configuration file. Please alert library staff.
  • Still having trouble? Email us. (A screenshot of the error page will be very helpful!)
  • Databases that require a separate login that is different from your VLGS login: Westlaw, Lexis+, NYTimes.com. (Need a password? Send an email to Sarah Scully)

Proxy bookmarklet for shared article links

Having trouble loading a shared URL? If someone sent you a link to an article from a database or website that VLGS subscribes to and you are seeing a prompt to log in or pay for the document, try reloading the page through the proxy bookmarklet.

1. Drag and drop the button below to your bookmarks toolbar to save it.

2. Load the shared link to the article you are trying to access.

3. Click the bookmarklet in your browser toolbar to reload the article page via the proxy server.

Check VLGS Library

If you are still having trouble, please contact Sarah Scully for assistance.

Get Help

Contact the VLGS Help Desk with questions about:

  • Your VLGS email and password.
  • CampusWeb login.
  • Printers at VLGS.
  • Compatibility with your particular hardware/operating system/firewall setup.
  • Other technical questions relating to these configurations.

Contact reference@vermontlaw.edu for problems with a particular database, e-journal, or other library resources.

Electronic Resources & Technology Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah Scully
she/her
Contact:
Cornell Library
Vermont Law and Graduate School
P.O. Box 96
South Royalton, VT 05068
802-831-1445
Library Homepage