Ebooks at the Julien & Virginia Cornell Library : Free ebooks

HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.

Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

The World's classic literature at your fingertips. Over 1,000,000 free ebook titles available.

Offers more than 8,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy

Manybooks.net is a digital library that takes e-books from Project Gutenberg, the Internet Archive, and other free sources and converts them to file formats suitable for e-readers, such as PDF or ePub. Although many of the books on this site seem like old titles, they offer a wide range of genres, both fiction and non-fiction as well as books in many other languages.

The vision of a national digital library has been circulating among librarians, scholars, educators, and private industry representatives since the early 1990s. Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage. DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Web 2.0 has given us great amounts of intelligent audio and video. It’s all free. It’s all enriching. But it’s also scattered across the web, and not easy to find. Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it. Some of our major resource collections include:950 Free Online Courses from Top Universities, 675 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns, etc.,550 Free Audio Books: Download Great Books for Free, 600 Free eBooks for iPad, Kindle & Other Devices, MOOCs from Great Universities (Many With Certificates), Learn 46 Languages Online for Free: Spanish, Chinese, English & More, 200 Free Kids Educational Resources: Video Lessons, Apps, Books, Websites & More

Free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world.