Energy Law and Policy Research

This book provides authoritative coverage of the legal rules that govern the development of privately owned mineral rights in the United States, which often also apply to government-owned resources. It covers topics such as the nature, protection, and conveyance of oil and gas rights, leasing, and taxation. The seventh edition tracks recent developments in the law and expands the book's Appalachian coverage.

Energy Economics outlines the fundamental issues and possible solutions to the challenges of energy production and use, presenting a framework for decisions based on sound economic analysis. This approach considers market forces and policy goals, including economic prosperity, environmental protection, and societal well-being. The second edition has been thoroughly updated, addressing dramatic shifts in the use of fuel and electricity, accelerated plans for the use of renewable energy, and pathways towards a lower-carbon future. A new chapter on electric vehicles examines their impact on transportation, the electricity market, and carbon emissions. Global examples throughout the book reflect the universal application of energy economics. This economic foundation, coupled with perspectives from real-world applications and related disciplines, sharpens the student's ability to understand, evaluate, and critique energy policy.

Is the goal of a transition to clean energy at all realistic? If so, how could it be accomplished? Climate change poses a formidable challenge for twenty-first-century governments. Unless they can move to a clean energy system built on efficiency, renewables, electrification, and possibly complementary technologies like nuclear energy and carbon capture and storage, it will be all but impossible to avoid the worst impacts of climate change. In this book, Daniel Fiorino provides a comprehensive introduction to the politics and policies of a clean energy transition and how it may unfold nationally and globally. Across its nine chapters, he explores the current energy landscape and the different pathways and pitfalls on the road to decarbonization. All scenarios for decarbonizing, he argues, rely on aggressive efficiency, the rapid scale-up of renewables, and the electrification of most of what is left. Yet this transition has to be accelerated and done effectively. There is little time left for second chances if we are to decarbonize later this century.

This book provides an overview of how laws and policies around the world are designed to support and accelerate the growth of renewable energy. Throughout, Professor Eisen focuses on how national and sub-national governments have responded to the revolutionary transformation of the world's energy system by developing and implementing support programs for renewable energy. Key features include global coverage of the ways in which laws and policies are guiding countries and regions to transition to renewable energy; detailed chapters highlighting all the important regulatory, financial, and technological aspects of renewable energy development; and critical insights designed to spotlight ongoing challenges and spark discussions about policy development.

This book provides a broad overview of the financial, economic, and legal implications of energy industry regulations in various countries. In light of significant changes around the globe, it analyses various institutions that are involved in regulatory measures, and based on various country studies, it offers insights into how energy sector regulations differ across countries with different market structures and institutions. Covering major topics such as laws and regulations geared to market competition and sustainability and the impact of noncompliance to regulations, from the perspectives of financial markets, and financial risks, the book is divided into four parts: Part I—Regulations: price and trade controls; Part II—Non-price and trade control regulations; Part III—Compliance with regulations; and Part IV—Market issues and regulation.