It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Energy Law and Policy Research: Research Databases
The BNA Environment Reporter provided weekly coverage of environmental news, until July 2018, thorugh Bloomberg Law.
The BNA Environment Reporter environmental news from courts, Congress, federal agencies, state legislatures, industry, and environmental organizations.
Archived material back to 1996.
Access is through Bloomberg Law > BNA Reports > Environmental.
Formerly called Ebrary. A collection of thousands of ebooks and other material in a variety of subject areas, including all aspects of energy. All books are also listed in JULIEN, but they can be searched full-text through this Ebook Central site.
Provides deep and insightful coverage of energy related regulatory and legislative issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the U.S. and around the world. Part of E & E Publishing. The Search Box searches all E & E publications back to 1996 where energy stories were published prior to the 2012 debut of EnergyWire.
Provides a wealth of secondary and primary information environmental (including energy) sources: federal and state litigation, statutes, and regulations, guidance & policy documents; briefs & pleadings; etc. often as far back as 1971.
Covers all academic disciplines including social sciences, science and technology. Half of the articles are full text, many peer-reviewed, and many with graphics, going back to 1980. Useful for locating background information related to issues surrounding energy law.
Science in Context’s Earth & Environmental Science and Math, Engineering, and Technology topic areas include sub-topics including: coal, fossil fuels, fracking, oil and gas, nuclear energy, energy efficiency, hydroelectric power, solar energy, wind energy, etc. In addition to articles there are links to reference sets including Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Chemical Elements, and Macmillan Science Library, images and videos. Designed for researchers in high school and university coursework, this is helpful as a starting point for many energy law research projects.
Includes journal and magazine articles. Click on Subject Guide Search and enter "energy" for topics including energy conservation, energy management, energy efficiency, energy efficient buildings, energy supply, etc., all relating to agriculture.
Click on Subject Guide Search and enter "energy" for topics including energy conservation, industries, efficiency, trading, supply, etc. Includes academic journals as well as magazine articles, providing access to multiple viewpoints including from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests.
GreenWire provides daily coverage of environment and energy issues, politics, and policy as well as special reports. Coverage includes new energy technologies, electric utility regulation, fossil fuel resources, development of renewable energy, etc. Archived material goes back to 1996.
HeinOnline is the best source for finding law review articles in PDF format, and that precede coverage on the other online research resources. It also includes much more including legislative histories.
InsideEPA includes daily news related to the environment and energy as well as EPA documents, The information can be viewed by topic areas such as energy, climate policy watch, natural gas, etc. or by using a searchable archive which goes back to 1997.
A large and eclectic collection of full text non-law journals in a number of subject areas that support research in energy law including technology, statistics, environmental sciences, business, economics, general science, etc.
Policy File Index users are able to access timely information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, including agriculture, energy, environment,natural resources, science/technology, and water. The majority of listings link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
ScienceDirect cites to more than a quarter of the world's scientific, technical, and medical information in more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Currently over 250,000 articles on ScienceDirect are open access and peer-reviewed. For the articles not available through open access, ScienceDirect provides citations, article abstracts, and author information. For these articles, members of the VLS community may submit an ILL request, noting that the article is from Science Direct, and the Library will obtain and pay for the article.
Statista includes national and international studies, reports, charts, graphs, and tables from an impressive variety of fields, many of them related to energy. The data is gathered from over 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the data comes from free sources such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The remainder comes from industry, marketing, and trade group sources. The tables, charts, and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.