LibGuides: Animal Law Research: State Resources

Animal-Specific State Laws

National Agricultural Law Center
This site provides an interactive map of all 50 U.S. states’ animal cruelty statutes. The primary aim of this compilation is to provide the researcher with easy and free access to a state’s statutory language by simply clicking on the state’s image from the map.
Animal Legal and Historical Center--Map of U.S. Animal Laws
The Animal Legal and Historical Center provides the 50 state laws on a wide variety of animal issues, including anti-cruelty and neglect laws, pet trust laws, service animal issues, and veterinary reporting and immunity laws.
NCSL Environmental and Natural Resources State Bill Tracking Database
The National Conference of State Legislators provides resources on important state policy trends. The Environment and Natural Resources Program tracks issues in seven major categories: climate change and air quality, environmental health, healthy communities, land use, natural resources, waste management and water. You can focus your research by a search for a keyword such as animals.
ALDF-State Legislative Schedule
ALDF provides the legislative session schedule for all 50 U.S. states. Scrolling down will lead to links to laws and legislation that protect animals.
Born Free--State Exotic Animal Possession Statutes
Born Free provides a summary of all 50 states' statutes on wild and exotic animal possession.

National Agricultural Law Center
Although not right up-to-date, the National Agricultural Law Center compiles reported and unreported cases on Animal Feeding Operations, Animal Welfare, and Food Safety.
Westlaw--State Animal Law Cases
Westlaw provides animal law decisions from state courts.
Lexis Nexis--State Animal Law Cases
Lexis Nexis provides animal law decisions from state courts. If the link doesn't load, find this information by selecting the "Environmental Law" practice area from the Lexis home page, selecting "State Cases-Environmental Law by State" and then typing "animal" into the advanced text search box.
Google Scholar Animal Cases
Google Scholar provides tens of thousands of U.S. state cases related to animals.
Court Listener
Court Listener contains thousands of precedential opinions from both federal and state courts on animal issues.
Law Pipe
LawPipe contains over 200 case summaries related to Animal Law! Make sure the “Animal Law” tag on the righthand side is selected before conducting your desired search. Although not kept up to date, this source contains relevant older cases.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress provides each State’s Constitution, and resources from their respective Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Branches.
Justia
Justia provides U.S. State Constitutions and yearly revised Statutes for each state.
Cornell Legal Institute-State Regulations
Cornel provides the state regulations and administrative codes for all 50 U.S. states.
State Constitutions
Indiana University’s Maurer School of Law compiles a 50-state map with links to resources for each State Constitution.