VLGS Subscription Databases
Below is a sampling of databases useful for animal law research the library subscribes to for use by Vermont Law and Gradate School students, faculty and staff.
Access the Full List of VLGS Environmental Law Databases.
Access the Full List of VLGS Databases
To access databases either on or off campus, log onto the School's portal when prompted.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes animal law and welfare resources in the agricultural and also environmental context. This database includes leading agricultural and environmental science full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights database includes more than 2,300 titles and nearly 650,000 pages relating to the basic rights of animals. From philosophical books dating back to the 1800s to government documents and videos, brochures, and scholarly articles, the database provides an overview of animal-related legislation, while following the evolution of animal rights throughout the years. Type key words into the search box at the top of the page.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of thousands of online books and other materials in a variety of subject areas including animal law, rights and welfare. They can be searched full-text. All ebooks are are also listed in the JULIEN library catalog by title, author, subjects, and often table of contents.
- Onefile: Agriculture This link opens in a new windowOneFile: Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. A combination of citations and full text for articles in more than 600 journals. In addition to the search box, animal law related resources can be found using the Visual Topic Finder and the Subject Guide Search.
- OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new windowOneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy includes articles related to environmental concerns with perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests including animal law and welfare. In addition to the search box, animal law related resources can be found using the Visual Topic Finder and the Subject Guide Search.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowGale Academic OneFIle covers many academic disciplines, and includes articles relating to animal law and welfare from scholarly as well as general interest journals. Contains full text for most of the articles. In addition to the search box, animal law related resources can be found using the Visual Topic Finder and the Subject Guide Search.
- EcoAméricas This link opens in a new windowEcoAméricas, a monthly publication covering development and the environment, includes animal law and welfare news in Latin America for an international audience. The Search option allows searching back to 1998. Includes a Guide to the environmental agencies of 24 Latin American countries.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete offers coverage of environmental aspects relating to animal law and welfare, wildlife, endangered species, and other areas of animal-focused environmental studies. Contains full text (for most) of the thousands of articles included, and a selection of monographs dating back 100 years.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA large and eclectic collection of full-text non-law journals in a number of subject areas that support research in animal law, welfare and rights, including Ecology, Economics, Business, Agriculture, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics, etc.
- Greenwire This link opens in a new windowGreenWire provides daily coverage of environment and energy issues including those related to animal law, welfare, and rights. It covers politics and policy with news stories and special Reports. Greenwire not only covers major regulations, legislation and court cases, but explains the issues with depth and breadth. Coverage goes back to 1996.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowAccess timely information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, including animal welfare and rights. The majority of listings link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowThis collection of fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts provides access to millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, research, etc. from think tanks nationally and globally, agencies, governments and cities. Policy Commons also includes research that has disappeared from inactive think tanks. It includes documents related to animal law, welfare, and rights.
- Politics Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides access to PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Animal law and welfare issues are covered.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Includes articles relating to animal law and welfare.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary index to social sciences journal literature, but not with quite as much full-text as other databases. It does, however serve as a citation tool to lead you to more recent articles that have cited your original article. Includes articles relating to animal law and welfare.
- Trends & Policy: U.S. Environment This link opens in a new windowThis unique resource includes content from a variety of sources connecting policies to trending topics. Included are public laws, hearings and reports, Executive Branch reports and data, current and historical news, etc. in extensive contextual topic pages. Click Browse Topics for CAFOs, the ESA, and several fisheries topics. Search
or for related Topic Areas.
Westlaw and Lexis
For effective animal law research you can search for sources as you normally would, including using the Advanced Search option.
Also, research assistance, tech support and customer service are available 24/7 on Live Chat or by clicking on Help. Law students can call 1-800-850-9378 for WESTLAW and 1-800-45-LEXIS for LEXIS.
KANOPY FILMS
KANOPY Kanopy's streaming film collection includes educational films and documentaries on Politics and Current Affairs, Science, Nature and Technology, Environmental Sciences, etc. You can search by keywords such as animal law or welfare or rights, or animals, etc. Kanopy films include Public Performance Rights for group and individual viewers as long as not for commercial benefit.
NEW YORK TIMES
If you've already registered, click here for access.
First time users click here
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your VLGS email (vermontlaw.edu) address. You have claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. You then have full access to NYTimes.com.
Each activation of a pass is good for one year. Register for a new pass by reactivating your account using the link above when your yearly subscription expires.