Animal Law Research: Web Sites/ELRS

This website is a clearinghouse for US animal law topics. Users may search content by category, including laws, legislation, case law, bibliography, and model laws. Especially useful is the option to search and then filter results by state, keyword, topic, or popular tags (e.g., “Ag-Gag” or “Endangered Species Act”). General topics include: agriculture, animal abuse/cruelty, animal control, animals in research, companion animals (pets), education, entertainment, fish and fishing, hunting and trapping, law enforcement, transportation, veterinarians, and wildlife. The site also allows users to sign up for animal law action alerts and check the status of legislation.

This animal law research guide, by the Georgetown Law Library, helps users navigate the research process for animal law in the US. The guide includes: statutes and case law, secondary sources, other animal law legal research guides, news and blog outlets, etc. Subject matter includes domestic animals, farm animals, marine mammals, wildlife, animal experimentation, and endangered species.

This animal law research guide presents information on animal law and related topics, including animal rights and animal welfare. The site suggests a short reading list to acquaint the user with animal law’s foundational concepts. The guide provides direction on how to research animal law and also links users directly to content. It includes cases, statutes, regulations, journals and news, books, and online sources such as blogs. There is also a list of animal law books, organized by the following topics: Animal Law, Animal Rights and Animal Welfare, Animals and Philosophy, Animals and Literature, Animals and Women’s Studies, and Animals and Theology.

Michigan State University operates the Animal Legal & Historical Center. The site regularly publishes news releases that relate to animal welfare, as well as over 1,200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), 1,400 U.S. statutes, dozens of topics and comprehensive explanations on animal issues, and legal articles on a variety of animal topics. Users can search topical introductions to animal laws, comparative animal laws across the U.S., and maps of U.S. animal laws by state. The site also gives users updates on books related to animal law.

ALDF seeks to protect animals through the legal system and works with the legal academy by, for example, sponsoring Student ALDF Chapters at law schools and collaborating with faculty. Focus areas include: animals used in research, captive animals, companion animals, farmed animals, and wildlife. Users can also find information on ag-gag laws, puppy mills, animals’ legal status, and stop the hunt, etc. Access to news, ongoing and past litigation, action alerts. You may want to begin your research by looking through the “Legal Resources” tab, which can be found on the bottom of the webpage.

AWI provides a comprehensive list of legal issues related to animals in laboratories, companion animals, marine life, terrestrial wildlife, and farmed animals. The site includes both federal and state legislation and guidance for how one can get involved in legislative initiatives. You can also search through the various cases AWI has filed and explore the evidence they organization used to bring their suits. AWI also has a digital library of books, reports, and brochures on a wide variety of animal welfare issues.

The Brooks Institute is "an animal law think-and-do tank dedicated to advancing animal law academics, scholarship, and policy-making." Their site includes research reports, articles, and videos. Their weekly Law Digest includes Legislative, Agency, Case Law, International, and Other Updates. You can also subscribe to the Brooks Animal Law Digest to receive weekly updates about new and important happenings in animal law at the federal and state level.

The CBD recognizes the importance of biodiversity and its link to human welfare. The CBD uses science, law, and advocacy to protect the “lands, waters, and climate” that species require for survival. Program areas include carnivore conservation, endangered species, climate law, environmental health, international species, oceans, population and sustainability, public lands, urban wildlands, and energy justice. Users can access reports, newsletters, petitions, presentations, articles, maps, news, websites, and policy papers through the Newsroom and Publications tabs.

The Good Food Institute (GFI) is an organization that works with scientists and entrepreneurs to develop environmentally friendly protein alternatives. The site provides a library of resources including academic papers, blogs, a video gallery, publications, select popular media involving food alternatives, and GFI in the news. Some databases on the site include alternative protein solutions and manufacturing companies.

The HSUS is the nation’s largest animal protection organization. Users can search animal welfare news and videos, or look for information by species. The site also provides resources on animal advocacy, including recent federal or state legislation, and allows users to search by topics such as Animals in Laboratories, Wildlife Protection, Farm Animal Protection, Puppy Mills, and the Fur Trade. HSUS also offers a subscription service for email or text updates.

WWF is an international foundation working to stop the degradation of the natural environment by conserving biodiversity and reducing the negative impacts of human activity. WWF works to help local communities conserve the natural resources they depend on; transform markets and policies toward sustainability; and protect and restore species and their habitats. The website provides information on the species they work to conserve, lists of experts, data, publications, and recent news.