Environmental Databases
Below is a sampling of the databases the library subscribes to for use by Vermont Law and Graduate School students, faculty and staff.
Access the Full List of VLGS Databases
To access databases either on or off campus, log onto the Vermont Law and Graduate School portal when prompted.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts from AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, and Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, as well as Environmental Impact Statement summaries. Provides full-text resources from around the world, scholarly and trade journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Much on environmental law and policy.
- Onefile: Agriculture This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights database includes more than 2,300 titles and nearly 650,000 pages relating to the background and evolution of the basic rights of animals. From philosophical books dating back to the 1800s to relevant government documents and videos, brochures, and scholarly articles, the database provides an overview of foundational animal-related legislation, while following the evolution of animal rights throughout the years.
- ClimateWire This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, daily coverage of climate policy issues by Environment & Energy Publishing. Searching includes all E & E Publishing stories back to 1996 where climate change stories were published prior to the 2008 debut of ClimateWire.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of thousands of online books and other materials in a variety of subject areas, including environmental law and related subjects. All are listed in the JULIEN library catalog by title, author, subjects, and often table of contents. They can be searched full-text through this Ebook Central database.
- EcoAméricas This link opens in a new windowEcoAméricas, a monthly publication covering development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience. The Search option allows searching back to 1998. Includes a Guide to the environmental agencies of 24 Latin American countries.
- Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law This link opens in a new windowThe Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law is organised into 12 volumes focusing on topics such as water, energy, and climate change – that reflect pressing issues facing us today. Includes key elements of law, essential concepts, and the latest research, through concise entries written by international experts, with extensive bibliographies. A mix of authoritative commentary and insightful discussion.
- EnergyWire This link opens in a new windowProvides deep, broad and insightful coverage of energy related regulatory and legislative issues surrounding the energy industry in the U.S. and around the world. Part of E & E Publishing. Searches include all E & E Publishing stories back to 1996 where energy stories were published prior to the 2012 debut of EnergyWire.
- Environment & Energy Daily This link opens in a new windowReporters on Capital Hill follow environment and energy-related activities from federal agency appropriations to comprehensive energy legislation. Environment & Energy Daily is the source to use to track environmental and energy issues
on the Hill. Includes news stories and special reports. Searching goes back to 1996. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers coverage of agriculture, climate change, ecosystem ecology, energy, and other areas of environmental studies. Contains full text articles for hundreds of journals and some monographs dating back over 100 years.
- Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new windowELR pulls together a wealth of resources: Litigation (10,000+ cases!); Federal Laws and Regulations; State, Administrative, and International Materials; Guidance & Policy Collection; Briefs & Pleadings; Daily Updates; ELR Journal Articles etc.
- OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy includes articles related to environmental concerns with content from diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Exploring Race In Society This link opens in a new windowExploring Race in Society includes articles from academic journals, agency reports, research by non-profits, primary source documents, and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience. Content covers issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities. Many documents relating to environmental justice and environmental racism, are included.
- Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowGale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from economics to the sciences. providing indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text. A combination of full text scholarly journals and selected general interest titles.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Science's Earth & Environmental Science section includes topics such as: agricultural science, air pollution, climate and weather, coal, extinction, fossil fuels, fracking, natural resource management,, wetlands, and wind energy, with links to reference sets including Gale Encyclopedia of Science, and Macmillan Science Library, articles from publications such as Science Weekly and Science News, as well as images and videos.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched articles drawing on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, law, health and technology. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. GreenFILE provides indexing and abstracts for all articles, as well as full text for many of the articles.
- Greenwire This link opens in a new windowGreenWire provides daily coverage of environment and energy issues, politics and policy, and special Reports. Greenwire not only covers major regulations, legislation and court cases but explains the issues with depth and breadth, from endangered species to water issues.
Searching goes back to 1996. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the best source for finding law review articles that precede coverage on the other online research resources. PDF versions are also available. IHeinOnline also includes a number of collections such as a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, and a State Session Laws Library.
- InsideEPA This link opens in a new windowInsideEPA includes daily news related to the environment, and EPA documents which include policy papers, comments, and draft & final regulations. Also, court decisions, legislation, state proceedings, and many other types of information of immediate interest. Includes a searchable archive back to 1997.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA large and eclectic collection of full text non-law journals in a number of subject areas that support research in environmental law including Ecology, Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Populations Studies, Sociology, Statistics, etc. Includes, for example, Ecology back to 1920, and the Journal of Ecology back to 1913.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy's streaming film collection includes educational films and documentaries on Politics & Current Affairs, Science, Nature & Technology, Environmental Sciences, etc. Kanopy films include Public Performance Rights for group and individual viewers, as long as it is not for commercial benefit.
- Law360 -- Energy This link opens in a new windowLaw360 – Energy is a comprehensive source of breaking legal news and analysis. Coverage includes energy litigation, legislation, regulation, policy developments, and industry news and trends involving oil and gas companies, energy utilities, alternative energy providers, and energy-related mining companies.
- Law360 -- Environment This link opens in a new windowLaw360 – Environmental is a comprehensive source of breaking news and in-depth articles dealing with environmental litigation, legislation, regulation, as well as policy developments and corporate deals with environmental implications.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowThis collection of fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts provides access to millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, research, etc. from think tanks nationally and globally, agencies, governments and cities. Policy Commons also includes research that has disappeared from inactive think tanks. It includes documents related to all aspects of environmental law and policy.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicy File Index users are able to access timely information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, including agriculture, energy, environment, food, natural resources, science/technology, and water. The majority of listings link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
- Politics Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides access to PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Environmental issues are covered extensively.
- Science Direct Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect includes cites to more than 11 million full text journal articles and book chapters and provides, for most articles, bibliographic information, article abstracts, and author information, but NOT FREE full text.
Members of the VLGS community may submit an ILL request, noting that the article is from Science Direct, and the Library will obtain and pay for the article. - OneFile: Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, books, news, and medial covering developments across a range of scientific disciplines, including environmental topics, going back to 1983.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Includes articles relating to the environment and environmental law and policy.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary index to social sciences journal literature, but not with quite as much full-text as other databases. It does, however serve as a citation tool to lead you to more recent articles that have cited your original article. Includes articles relating to environmental law.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista includes national and international studies, reports, charts, graphs, and tables from a variety of fields, many of them related to energy and to the environment, gathered from over 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the data comes from free sources such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The remainder comes from industry, marketing, and trade group sources. The tables, charts, and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint or Excel.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. A great deal of environmentally-related information is included. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables with attached spreadsheets. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of additional information.
- Trends and Policy: U.S. EnvironmentThis unique resource includes content from a variety of sources connecting policies to trending topics. Included are public laws, hearings and reports, Executive Branch reports and data, current and historical news, etc. in extensive contextual topic pages. Click Browse Topics. Covers everything from Acid Rain to the Wilderness Act.
- Urban Land Institute This link opens in a new windowThe Urban land Institute "initiates research on emerging land use trends and issues, proposing creative solutions.". Includes news, articles, case studies and links on issues such as civic engagement, public policy, smart growth, sustainable development, transportation, development and regeneration, and international issues. Some information is free.
To access members-only information, ask a Librarian. - Water Rights & Resources This link opens in a new windowWater Rights & Resources, a HeinOnline database, gathers together government documents and reports, hearings, codes, supreme court briefs, committee prints, periodicals and scholarly articles about water rights and related topics, all in one place.
KANOPY FILMS
KANOPY Kanopy's streaming film collection includes educational films and documentaries on Politics & Current Affairs, Science, Nature & Technology, Environmental Sciences, etc. Kanopy films include Public Performance Rights for group and individual viewers, as long as it is not for commercial benefit.
NEW YORK TIMES
If you click on "Science" near the top of the home page, you can link to the subsection "Climate (and Environment)."
If you've already registered, click here for access.
First time users click here
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your VLGS email (vermontlaw.edu) address. You have claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. You then have full access to NYTimes.com.
Each activation of a pass is good for one year. Register for a new pass by reactivating your account using the link above when your yearly subscription expires.