Subject Searching
Once you find a book of interest in a library catalog, look at the subjects listed for the book to assist you in identifying related search terms or materials. You can use the subjects as search terms in a new search or click on the search terms to discover other books about the same subject.
When using JULIEN, enter search terms as a keyword search; do not use the subject search option.
Here's an example of a book in our collection and the subjects assigned to it:
Title: Food System Transparency: Law, Science and Policy of Food and Agriculture
Subjects:
- Food law and legislation
- Food fraud
- Agricultural ecology—Law and legislation
- Food—Labeling—Law and legislation
- Food—Quality
- Food—Safety measures
- Food—Standards
Ebook Searching
You can search for ebooks in the library's collection using JULIEN or Ebook Central.
When searching in JULIEN, you are searching the books' catalog information, such as title, author, and subjects. If you perform an advance search, you can limit your search to ebooks in the Material Type field. Just don't limit the location; that will eliminate all ebooks from your search since the ebooks don't have a library location.
When searching in Ebook Central, you are searching the full text of the platform's books. If you want to limit your search results to ebooks in our collection, be sure to check the box next to "Owned and subscribed to by my library" under Book Status. If you want an ebook that is not in our collection, you can complete the interlibrary loan form to request the book.
Example Print Books
Between Soil and Society by Call Number: KF1681 .C67 2024ISBN: 1496225147Publication Date: 2024This book traces the history and development of conservation policy, especially as it compares to and interacts with the development of farm policy. The United States spends approximately $5 billion each year on federal programs designed to conserve natural resources and address the environmental consequences of modern agricultural production. Like farm policy, agricultural conservation policy is rooted in the Roosevelt administration's New Deal efforts of the 1930s. Farm conservation policy has waxed and waned since then, related to fluctuating economic and environmental concerns. In this book, Jonathan Coppess traces the history and development of U.S. conservation policy, especially as it compares to and interacts with the development of farm policy. By answering questions about the differences in political support and development for these similar policy regimes, with efforts to apply legal and political theory to understand the differences, Coppess considers the implications of climate change and lessons for future policy development.
From Label to Table by Call Number: KF1620 .F66 F76 2023ISBN: 9780520298804Publication Date: 2023How did the Nutrition Facts label come to appear on millions of everyday American household products? As Xaq Frohlich unearths, this legal, scientific, and seemingly innocuous strip of information is in fact a prism through which to view the high-stakes political battles and development of scientific ideas that shaped the realms of American health, nutrition, and public communication. This book tells the biography of the food label. By tracing policy debates at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Frohlich describes the emergence of our present information age in food and diet markets and how powerful government offices inform the public about what they consume. From the early years of FDA food standards, with concerns about consumer protection, up to present-day efforts to modernize the Nutrition Facts panel, Frohlich explores the evolving popular ideas about food, diet, and responsibility for health that inform what goes on the label and who gets to decide that.
Food Loss and Waste Policy by Call Number: HD9000.5 .F66352022ISBN: 9781032129419Publication Date: 2022This book examines policy responses to food waste and loss, an issue of significant, global concern, with one-third of food produced for human consumption lost or wasted. Investigating food waste and loss under an interdisciplinary lens, the contributors employ a variety of methodological approaches, including quantitative and qualitative techniques, drawing on in-depth case studies and action research. Organized into two parts, the first part is introductory and comprises three chapters investigating the measurement, drivers, consequences, and costs of food waste and loss. The second part provides an overview of a range of programs aiming to prevent and reduce food waste and loss undertaken by international and intergovernmental institutions, national and local governments, and private actors. International FAO and EU programs are examined, as are national case studies from Asia, Latin America, and Europe, and local programs within European cities. By focusing on different territories and different levels of governance, the book provides a detailed evaluation of food loss and waste policies, the barriers and opportunities of implementing the policies, as well as the impact they are actually having.
Food Law by Call Number: KF3875 .F63 2021ISBN: 9781641059510Publication Date: 2021The goal of this practical guide to food law is to offer an introduction to how different areas of law and legal practice intersect with food.
Example Ebooks
Crop Sustainability and Intellectual Property Rights by ISBN: 9781000864298Publication Date: 2024This book merges the concepts of traditional agriculture, crop sustainability, and intellectual property rights associated with plant protection and agricultural products. It discusses various strategies associated with crop tolerance to adverse environmental conditions and also highlights the role of agricultural intellectual property rights, along with the implications for plant patents, protection of farmers' rights, and geographical indication in plant products, to provide a broader outlook toward strategies for sustainable agriculture and global food security associated with IPR. The volume explores several stress resilience strategies and issues for crops, considering how to mitigate the effect of increased carbon dioxide concentration, heavy metal pollution, over-salinized soils, and cold spells. It also discusses how to make desert farming more efficient; how to increase abiotic stress tolerance of crops with grafting, seed soaking/priming, soil amendment, and more.
Conservation Policies for Agricultural Biodiversity by ISBN: 9780128214589Publication Date: 2023This book focuses on the challenge of securing the ecological future of the planet and its inhabitants by exploring the Convention of Biological Diversity and the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing and WTO laws, such as SPSS, TBT, and GATT. This book demonstrates how the urgent problem of biodiversity loss can be addressed by challenging notions of national self-interest and security for the purpose of implementing policies that will benefit humanity and, more importantly, ensure the future of our planet. It delves into the current approaches adopted in the framework of global environmental governance; investigates the origins, operations and effects of legal regimes, policies, and practices related to the conservation of biodiversity; and presents a comparative study of laws and policies, providing an in-depth understanding of the factors behind the lack of success in conserving agricultural biodiversity.
Law and Veganism by ISBN: 9781793622624Publication Date: 2022In our complex, consumerist societies, the intricacy of personal interactions and the number of goods and products available often prevents us from direct knowledge of what lies 'behind' food behaviors, ingredients, and the origins of the modern food and agriculture supply chain. Over the last decade or so, scholars, lawyers, and engaged lay vegans have had many discussions about vegan rights and discrimination as issues intrinsic to animal rights, but the final frontier remains intact: the direct concerns of other animals. To give effect to the rights of animals, we must recognize and defend the human right--or duty, as many uphold--to care about them. Including contributors from Australia, the United States, Germany, Italy, France, Canada, Portugal, and the United Kingdom, this book explores the rights of vegans and how vegans can be protected from discrimination. Using an international socio-legal lens, the contributors discuss constitutional issues, vegan legal cases, the concept of protection for vegan 'belief' in human rights and equality law, the legal requirement to provide vegan food, animal agriculture and plant-based, vegan food in the context of the human right to food, and the rights of vegans in education and health care.
Fighting for Farming Justice: Diversity, Food Access and the USDA by ISBN: 9780429401053Publication Date: 2021This book provides a detailed discussion of four class-action discrimination cases that have recently been settled within the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and have led to a change in the way in which the USDA supports farmers from diverse backgrounds.
