Access to Subscription Databases
Most subscription databases at the Vermont Law and Graduate School are restricted to Vermont Law and Graduate School students, faculty, and staff. For access assistance, contact reference@vermontlaw.edu.
In conjunction with the Vermont State Library the Vermont Law and Graduate School library offers on-site Westlaw and Lexis access for walk-in use by the public. See the Community Legal Information Center webpage for more details.
Vermont Law Available Through Subscription Databases
Vermont materials available through subscription based legal research platforms are consistent with state material on those platforms available generally for the 50 United States. The specific content and features vary as highlighted below.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIn addition to a Vermont law reviews and journals, HeinOnline provides Vermont session laws beginning in 1778 as well as select historic statutory codes.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ provides access to U.S. federal and state law sources and sources of international law and the laws of a growing number of other jurisdictions. Sources vary by jurisdiction, but may include constitutions, legislation, legislative history, statutory codes, regulations, regulatory materials, cases, case digests, citators, public records, law reviews, treatises, and general and legal news.
- PACER This link opens in a new window PACER provides access to select filings and dockets from federal courts; including Vermont federal district, circuit, and bankruptcy courts. Contact reference@vermontlaw.edu to obtain PACER documents.
- Vermont Judiciary Public PortalThe Public Portal is a web-based platform that offers court users and members of the general public customized role-based access to court records, hearing calendars and other data. The Portal also provides a convenient way to pay court fines online from anywhere on any compatible device.
- vLex Legal Research
Like Westlaw and Lexis, vLex offers comprehensive access to U.S. case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions. In addition, vLex offers access to some court docket materials: briefs, motions, pleadings and opinions from select cases and court systems, as well as news and scholarly law review articles.
- Fastcase + Briefs, Motions, Pleadings This link opens in a new windowFastcase provides affordable access to Vermont primary law including cases, statutes, court rules, and select administrative decisions. Included in our subscription is the add-on for Briefs, Motions, and Pleadings, containing court dockets.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw provides Vermont primary law materials, including select unpublished cases, as well as extensive secondary resources. The robust annotations, including headnotes and key numbers, increase research efficiency and enhance the scope of the KeyCite citator. Westlaw's strength lies with its sophisticated search platform as well as its expansive range of contemporary materials.
