Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Students' Library Services Guide

Information about Vermont Law School's Cornell Library and the services we offer to our online students

Our Databases

We subscribe to over 70 legal, news, and environmental databases and add new ones from time to time.

Access our Library Database List, which contains A-Z and topical lists. (You can also access the lists from the Databases link on the library's home page.)

If you need assistance with one of our databases, contact a reference librarian.

Off-Campus Access

Most library e-journals & databases are available for off-campus use by current VLS faculty, staff, and students. To access our databases, choose one from the Library Database List and enter your VLS username and password when prompted.

Note that to access a database from off-campus, you must use the link directly from our database list (or bookmark our link in your browser). Using a search engine or other school's list to find a database does not allow the vendor to recognize you as a VLS user.

If you experience any problems accessing databases off campus, try these troubleshooting tips:

  • Try a different browser.
  • Enable cookies, pop-up windows, and JavaScript in your browser for the database in question.
  • If you are using a computer at an internship or workplace: corporate firewalls can block users from accessing our resources. Ask your IT/network administrator to create an exception for https://stevens.vermontlaw.edu. (If this doesn't work, try adding the database's full URL to the firewall exception.)
  • Getting an EZProxy Hostname error? This could indicate a source needs to be added to the VLS Library's database configuration file. Please alert library staff.
  • Still having trouble? Email us. (A screenshot of the error page will be very helpful!)
  • A few of our databases require a separate login that is different from your VLS login: Westlaw, Lexis Advance, Bloomberg Law, and NYTimes.com. (Need a password? Contact Chenfang Yang, Electronic Services Librarian)